Sheffield Darts League Champions Carlton Club end season with victory

First time Mag 7 Darts League champions Carlton Club completed their successful season with a fine 5-2 away win at Trades & Labour despite being all square at the break.

Alan Robinson opened up by conquering Roy Gorman, with Roy hitting his 8th maximum of the season which is equal best, Ian Cook (180 & 13 darter) levelled against Andy Radford with Nick White putting Carlton back ahead following his win against Aidan Cook, only for Kieran Parkinson to draw Trades level again as he accounted for Andy Else.

The champs then finished in style when Jimmy Haslam led Phil Simpson with a 180.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Les Barker (180) did for Billy Field and Gary Eaton finished off against Mark Pigott despite Mark hitting a maximum and 122 check out.

Over at Kiveton, six man Wales Jubilee SC beat Steelers 5-2 and were never in any danger following their only loss on the night when Martyn Nicholls somehow managed to finish against Andy Whittington who just couldn’t.

It was plain sailing pretty much after that as Steve Thompson bettered John Hatch, Gary Smith outshot Chris Fowler, Tom Denton fell to John Clifford, Tony Cresswell was outstanding against Phil Broadhurst and Mark Thompson completed the scoring with his victory over Andy Taylor.

A similar story developed at Kimberworth as Lord Nelson only managed one success all evening as Shane Wilson did for Neil Moreman in game six, with Pewter Pot running out convincing 6-1 winners.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Josh Thompson got the better of Tony Atkinson, Greg Martin edged out Terry Baggaley, Carl Moorhouse punished Craig Thorpe, Paul Furniss went down to Pete Walsh, Pat Dalton (15 darts) had too much for Martin Glenn and John Bowler ended proceedings by outstripping Graham Bell.

Mosborough MW finished their season without a single victory as this time they fell 6-1 at home to Union Club and unfortunately that one game win was courtesy of Union only fielding six players.

The away side’s winners, with losers in brackets, were; Tony Darlow (Terry Harris), Brian Edis (Jamie Booker), Glen Lister (Lee Whitmore), Lee Olesiuk (180) (Ian Green), Mick Ridge (Kamen Thompson), and Paul Buttery (Lauren Chapman).

Related topics: