Doncaster Rovers 0 Wigan Athletic 1: Will Grigg winner seals League One title for Latics

Doncaster Rovers boss Darren Ferguson was absent for family reasons as Wigan Athletic won at the Keepmoat Stadium to seal the League One title.
Rovers v WiganRovers v Wigan
Rovers v Wigan

Rovers, who finished the season in 15th place, held firm for the majority of a tame contest but the visitors' extra quality eventually told when Will Grigg ran clear and slotted home a 75th minute winner.

The main positive for Doncaster was the performance of young left back Danny Amos who showed no signs of nerves on his second start and also delivered some useful set pieces.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

After John Marquis poked an early effort wide both teams cancelled each other out for the majority of a low key first period.

Wigan became more of a threat towards the end of the half as Gavin Massey and Sam Morsy fired shots straight at Marko Marosi before Grigg almost converted Nathan Byrne's cross.

Grigg twice went close following the re-start and it was the Northern Ireland striker who broke the deadlock with quarter of an hour left when he latched onto Nick Powell's through ball and coolly slotted past Marosi.

Rovers: Marosi, Mason, Anderson, Butler, Amos, McCullough, Houghton, Blair (Kongolo 22), Whiteman (Kiwomya 78), Beestin, Marquis. Subs not used: Lawlor, Andrew, Fletcher, Ben Khemis, May.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Wigan: Walton, Byrne, Elder, Dunkley, Burn, Morsy, Power, Massey (Perkins 83), Jacobs (Roberts 90), Powell, Grigg (Cole 90). Subs not used: Jones, Walker, Bruce, Colclough.

Referee: David Webb (Tyne & Wear)

Attendance: 12,057 (4,103)