Sheffield College’s media students end of year Oscars

Have your say

The red carpet was rolled out to celebrate the creative talent of Sheffield College’s media students at their end of year Oscars.

BTEC creative media students from the Norton campus dressed like Alisters for the special awards night held at The Hubs Hallam students union building in the city centre.

Kyle Jones at the Oscars night.

Kyle Jones at the Oscars night.

Show reels of their work – highlighting their skills in cinematography, directing, music video production, TV advertising, and website design – were shown on a big screen to an audience of friends, family and staff.

Norton’s head of media and humanities Matthew Neale said: “It was a fantastic night and a chance for us to celebrate the amazing talent we have among our media students.

“I am very proud of what they have achieved and it was a real pleasure to see them receiving Oscars for all the hard work and effort they have put in this year.”

The audience were able to choose the winner of the best music video by texting their vote in the interval.

Sheffield College media students students enjoy the big screen experience at their Oscars night.

Sheffield College media students students enjoy the big screen experience at their Oscars night.

The winner was Ali Ruban who wrote and performed his own lyrics, as well as directing the video.

Heather Smith, college principal and executive director of Sheffield College, said: “Our talented media students demonstrated yet again their creativity and technical expertise.

“I was proud to share in this celebration of their work and am sure that many of them will go on to bright futures in the media industry. Sheffield College continues to be a great place to study media.”

The full list of winners is:

Most Committed Level 2 Student – David Balogh

Most Improved Level 2 Student – Callum Ibbotson

Best Level 2 Final Project – Mark Flude

Level 3 Most Commited First Year – Phoebe Alderson

Level 3 Most Improved First Year – Ali Ruban

Level 3 Most Conscientious Second Year – Ryan Bradford

Level 3 Best Television Advertisement – Ryan Bradford, Molly Harris and Dan Oakey

Level 3 Best Website Design – Lucie Dawes and Heena Siddiqi

Best HorrorFest Film – This Is Not a Drill. Director: Kyle Jones

Best Cinematographer – Tom Andrew

Best Director – Kyle Jones

Best Music Video as voted for by the audience – Ruban – “On the Road/ Cash Rules Arabs.” Directed by: Ali Ruban.