VIDEO: Keane play Somewhere Only We Know

Have your say

Chart stars Keane are taking a year off but first played a Real Radio Intimate Concert in Sheffield - watch them perform Somewhere Only We Know, writes Graham Walker.

VIDEO: Press the play button to watch our exclusive video of them at Sheffield Winter Garden.

Keane performing at the Sheffield Winter Garden

Keane performing at the Sheffield Winter Garden

MORE VIDEO: Watch Graham Walker’s chat with front man Tom Chaplin, who talks about becoming a day, the band’s decision to take a break and their top 10 Best Of Keane album - CLICK HERE.

Front man Tom Chaplin, with his amazing vocal range, accompanied keyboard player Tim Rice-Oxley, with percussionist Richard Hughes ‘on the shaker’. Bass player Jesse Quin was missing, on new dad duties.

They performed a stripped-down acoustic set of mainly greatest hits, including Everybody’s Changing, This Is The Last Time, Bedshaped, Sovereign Light Cafe and Somewhere Only We Know, the song covered by Lily Allen for the John Lewis Christmas TV advert.

About 200 fans, including The Star competition winners, were also treated to Higher Than The Sun, one of three new tracks on the album, plus a version of David Bowie’s Life On Mars.

Keane front man Tom Chaplin performing at the Sheffield Winter Garden

Keane front man Tom Chaplin performing at the Sheffield Winter Garden

DOWNLOAD: Buy the new Best Of Keane album now from all good record outlets and online. You can get it here from Amazon - CLICK HERE.

The Best Of Keane album is more than a greatest hits selection - it includes chart hits, but also songs rated by the band and fans as their best tracks.

Here’s the running order, of the deluxe version:

Disc: 1

1. Everybody’s Changing

2. Somewhere Only We Know

3. Bend and Break

4. Bedshaped

5. This Is The Last Time

6. Atlantic

7. Is It Any Wonder?

8. Nothing In My Way

9. Hamburg Song

10. Crystal Ball

11. A Bad Dream

12. Try Again

13. Spiralling

14. Perfect Symmetry

15. My Shadow

16. Silenced By The Night

17. Disconnected

18. Sovereign Light Café

19. Higher Than The Sun

20. Won’t Be Broken

Disc: 2

1. Snowed Under

2. Walnut Tree

3. Fly To Me

4. To The End Of The Earth

5. The Way You Want It

6. Something In Me Was Dying

7. Allemande

8. Let It Slide

9. He Used To Be A Lovely Boy

10. Thin Air

11. The Iron Sea (Magic Shop Version)

12. Maybe I Can Change

13. Time To Go

14. Staring At The Ceiling

15. Myth

16. Difficult Child

17. Sea Fog (Live in Mexico City)

18. Russian Farmer’s Song