Tickhill beat Elsecar to win Whitworth Cup

Tickhill got the better of Elsecar to win the Whitworth Cup.

Monday, 8th August 2016, 1:31 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 6:09 pm
Tickhill's Jordan Lowe pictured batting and Shazad Rana pictured bowling for Elsecar. Picture: Marie Caley

The Alderson Drive club, who are also chasing promotion to the ECB Yorkshire South Premier League, posted 188-7 in Sunday’s final at Wickersley Old Village before dismissing their Championship rivals for 109.

Wicketkeeper Jordan Lowe made a vital 56 not out as Tickhill’s middle order wobbled.

Siviwe Gidana

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

An impressive bowling and fielding display, including 3-17 from Alex Rowland, then paved the way for the Doncaster club to get their hands on the silverware and maintain hopes of a league and cup double.

Opener Andrew Rennison (36) helped Tickhill get off to a solid start but when they collapsed from 66-1 to 79-6 their chances were hanging by a thread.

However, Lowe kept his nerve and combined with Siviwe Gidana in an 80-run eighth wicket partnership to see his side up to a defendable total.

Gidana then removed Paul Cummins with the first ball of the Elsecar innings to set the tone.

Josh Court, pictured bowling for Tickhill.

Wickets fell at regular intervals and, despite Shahzad Rana (20) and Ian Swallow (20) briefly raising hopes of a comeback, Elsecar’s resistance came to an end with the score on 109.

Gidana (2-20) and James Stuart (2-11) removed the top order before Rowland polished off the tail.

Jordan Lowe
Siviwe Gidana
Josh Court, pictured bowling for Tickhill.
Jordan Lowe