super league

Web Pic Bowls
Web Pic Bowls
Share this article
Have your say

Meersbrook Bowling Club continued their seemingly inexorable march towards a third successive Sheffield Bowls Super League title with a 10-2 home win over near neighbours Meersbrook Park.

Gary Ainley 21-3 and Ernie wearing 21-8 were the best home winners, with Andy Oates 21-16 and Matt Goulding 21-20 counting for the Park.

Woodlands and Maltby BC shared the ten jacks but Woodlands shaved the aggregate 162-160 for a 7-5 home win, mainly thanks to Mick Boyd’s 21-8, and Tony Barrass’s 21-9.

John Sneddon won 21-7 for the visitors, and was joined on the winners’ bench by Ross Meese 21-11, Danny Sillitoe 21-8, John Hardwick 21-12 and Rob Swift 21-19.

Other results: Burbage 9 (Paul Bradley 21-9, Dave Mycock 21-5) Armthorpe 3 (Malcolm Tonge 21-17, John Richardson 21-15, Scott Parkes 21-7); Bradfield 11 (Matt Beever 21-4) Dorothy Hymans 1 (Steve Shannon 21-20); Millhouses 5 (Steve Marshall 21-5) Crookesmoor 7 (Glyn Davies 21-20, Sam Day 21-16, Kevin Jenkinson Snr. 21-9, Dave Doman 21-13, Mark Johnson 21-8).

n Sheffield Parks Telegraph League results: Hillsborough 7 Meersbrook BC 5, Laycocks 10 Bradfield 2, Abbey 4 Whiteley Woods 8, Stocksbridge BC 8 Davy 4, Bolehills 10 Millhouses 2.

Whiteley Woods lead the table with 54 points from 7 games, Meersbrook BC 50 from 7, Laycocks 41 from 6.

Only seven points cover the remaining seven teams with Davy fourth on 36 and Millhouses bottom on 29.

n The Swallownest Open Singles tournament starts on Saturday June 8 and runs for five weeks. Practice is from 5.15pm for a 6.00pm start.

The first night’s entrants are: Phil Walworth, Andy Sorsby, Jack Clarke, Michael Hobson, Jeff Powell, Andy Whitaker, Joe Thorpe, Richard Atkin, John Guess, Paul Bradley, Steve Marshall, Kevin Nixon, Vince Senior, Sam Day, Chris Hill, and Dean Missere.

n Don’t miss our bowls page every week in Grassroots.