Star Football Awards: Ian Evatt wins Chesterfield Player of the Year

Ian Evatt
Ian Evatt
Have your say

Ian Evatt has been named as the Chesterfield Player of the Year at tonight's Star Football Awards.

The award was presented by The Star’s Chesterfield reporter Graham Smyth, and Chesterfield manager Gary Caldwell.

Evatt clinched the award ahead of teammates Sam Hird and Kristian Dennis.

In a difficult season for Chesterfield as a club, Evatt had his own fair share of adversity.

Playing with an injury at the start of the campaign led to this veteran being written off in some quarters.

But he roared back to form and with the captain's armband restored to his arm, brought consistency and leadership to an ailing side.

Injury ended his season prematurely and his absence has hurt the Spireites, who really could have done with his desire and battling spirit.