Tigers thrash top flight newcomers

editorial image
Have your say

Sheffield Tigers 62

Plymouth Devils 30

TIGERS raced to another three Premier League points with a stunning win against Plymouth at Owlerton last night.

Eric Boocock’s men were never troubled by the league’s newcomers, producing a solid team-performance whilst covering for the absence of the injured Josh Auty.

Each of the remaining six home riders were paid for at least two race wins apiece with Hugh Skidmore the star of the show with an excellent 14+2. He was backed by skipper Ricky Ashworth with an unbeaten 14+1, with Shane Parker and Simon Lambert chipping in with 14 and 10+2 respectively. Sheffield also welcomed back Emiliano Sanchez from his recent injury and the Argentinean recovered from two pointless rides to finish with two paid wins.

Things did get off to an even start with Ashworth winning a shared opening race, but three quickfire maximums soon put the Tigers into an 18-6 lead.

Devils star Ben Barker was then nominated for a tactical ride in Heat 5, but got pushed wide by Ashworth on bend one and was relegated to the back. The Great Britain International did fight back nearly catching Ashworth on the line, but with Skidmore leading them home another 5-1 was the end result.

A drawn Heat 6 then followed, but the visitors could offer little resistance as Sheffield further increased their advantage to 45-15 following the completion of Heat 10.

To limit the Tigers onslaught Jason Bunyan then donned the black and white helmet in Heat 11 and he did gain better rewards than the earlier double point attempt. Shane Parker won the race comfortably enough, but Bunyan followed the Aussie home after team-mate Barker let him past on the final lap.

Skidmore and teenager Ashley Birks came from behind to record another maximum in Heat 12, but moments later Barker did salvage some pride for his side when linking up with Bunyan for a 4-2 over Parker.

The Tigers finished strongly though and ended the night with 14 of the 15 race winners.

Tigers: Skidmore 14+2, Ashworth 14+1, Parker 14, Lambert 10+2, Birks 6+1, Sanchez 4+2, Auty R/R.