Speedway: Josh plans to continue rich vein of form for Sheffield Tigers

Sheffield Tiger Josh Grajczonek. Picture: Marie Caley
Sheffield Tiger Josh Grajczonek. Picture: Marie Caley
Have your say

Josh Grajczonek won’t delay over tweaks to his set-up as he bids to maintain his unstoppable form around Owlerton.

Last week’s 14-point haul in the 53-37 Knockout Cup beating of Edinburgh left the Aussie with 17 wins from 23 competitive rides since signing for Sheffield.

A heat 13 battle that night saw compatriot Sam Masters end Grajczonek’s 12-race streak of remaining unbeaten by an opponent at home and the Tigers number one is taking nothing for granted ahead of tonight’s visit of Newcastle (7.30).

“Speedway is a funny old game,” said Grajczonek. “This week I could score badly so you have to be on the ball. Sheffield changes quickly, it was catching me out at the start of the year so now I’m trying to stay on top of it.

“I have a big break between my second and third rides, they usually do two grades in that time and it makes a big difference to how your bikes work.

“It’s all about concentration and making changes at the right times.

“At the start of the year I struggled a bit, I wouldn’t make changes when I needed to, I’d do it a race too late and would kick myself for playing catch up.

“It is good to have (team boss) Simon Stead there because he knows the track more than anyone.

“Nine times out of 10, the bike feels right but you always want to go faster.

“We have been concentrating on watching what the track is doing and it has worked well over the past three meetings.”

Grajczonek, who also weighed in with 12 to help Tigers secure a point at Newcastle on Sunday, will be out to continue his fine form in the return.

Poole Pirates rookie James Shanes takes the place of the suspended Jack Parkinson-Blackburn for Sheffield. Parkinson-Blackburn quit the club last week only to have a change of heart and say he needs time out to rebuild his confidence in the development league.

Tigers: Josh Grajczonek, Todd Kurtz, Lasse Bjerre, Josh Bates, Kyle Howarth, Robert Branford, James Shanes.

Newcastle: Steve Worrall, Ashley Morris, Lewis Rose, Ludvig Lindgren, Robert Lambert, Connor Coles, Ben Hopwood.