Lasse Bjerre cleared to ride for Sheffield Tigers as they bid to make up four-point cup deficit in second leg against Edinburgh

Sheffield Tigers' Lasse Bjerre. Picture: Marie Caley
Sheffield Tigers' Lasse Bjerre. Picture: Marie Caley
Have your say

Lasse Bjerre will take his place in Sheffield’s side for tonight’s cup tie with Edinburgh at Owlerton – after looking set to miss out.

Bjerre was needed back in Denmark but has reached agreement to ride at Owlerton as Tigers look to overhaul a four-point deficit from the first leg in Scotland.

And he insists he’s settling in well with the new riding order after boss Simon Stead switched things.

“Me and Josh (Bates) are slowly getting used to riding with each other,” said Bjerre. “When you’ve been used to riding with one rider and then the team gets switched around a bit, it can take a bit of time to get used to each other’s lines.

“Sometimes we like to try and ride the same line but we’re getting there and we just want to score as many heat advantages for the team.

“It doesn’t matter who I’m partnered with really though; we’ve got such a strong team and there’s never a race where we look at it and think we’re going to concede one of those heat advantages.

“We’re really confident as a group and pleased with how things have been going.

“Even when a couple of the boys have an off night, we all dig deep to cover the points.

“We showed that against Glasgow last week so there’s no reason why we can’t turn the result around in the cup against Edinburgh.”

Edinburgh have been in fine form again this season and include former Tigers man Ricky Wells, who has recently also won a Premiership place with Rye House.

Sam Masters is also in line for a call-up to the Australian World Cup squad and spearheads the Monarchs alongside German ace Mark Riss in the opening race.

Sheffield: Josh Grajczonek, Todd Kurtz, Lasse Bjerre, Josh Bates, Kyle Howarth, Rob Branford, Jack Parkinson-Blackburn.

Edinburgh: Sam Masters, Mark Riss, Erik Riss, Josh Pickering, Ricky Wells, Max Clegg, Mitchell Davey.