Lambert stars as Tigers grind out victory

editorial image
Share this article
Have your say

Sheffield Tigers 52

Newcastle 39

TIGERS reserve Simon Lambert dug his side out of a hole at Owlerton last night.

Opponents Newcastle got off to a flyer as they went into a 9-3 lead, helped by Lambert’s disqualification from Heat 2 – but it was the Sheffield reserve who outshone the Diamonds thereafter with a stunning series of race wins.

Strong showings too from Shane Parker and guest Richard Hall enabled Tigers to overcome the injury absence of skipper Ricky Ashworth, and also cover for a difficult night for Hugh Skidmore.

Lambert and Parker took maximum points over Owlerton debutant Claes Nedermark to cut the early deficit to two in Heat 4, and the scores were levelled a couple of races later with Hall recovering well from a first-ride last place.

The visitors briefly took the lead once more but Tigers made their big move in Heat 9 with Parker taking the rider-replacement outing for Ashworth and pulling off 5-1 with Skidmore.

Lambert already had three wins on the board by that stage, and he made it four in Heat 12 as Tigers went six up with Newcastle’s Jason King falling, and a sterling 5-1 from Parker and Hall over ex-Sheffield man Lee Complin in Heat 13 put the home side ten points to the good.

The Diamonds had their top man Stuart Robson going for double in Heat 14 but it went wrong when an infringement sent him 15 metres back, and Lambert took full advantage to win again with Robson third but unable to swap places with his team-mate Kyle Newman. That meant Tigers’ points were effectively safe but they made no mistake in Heat 15 either as Parker and Hall signed off with another 5-1, sending them into tonight’s tough trip to Edinburgh in good heart.

SHEFFIELD: Shane Parker 15+2, Simon Lambert 15, Richard Hall 12+2, Emiliano Sanchez 5+1, Hugh Skidmore 4, Ashley Birks 1, Ricky Ashworth R/R.

NEWCASTLE: Stuart Robson 11+1, Lee Complin 7+1, Kyle Newman 7, Derek Sneddon 6+1, Claes Nedermark 4, Jason King 2+1, Ritchie Worrall 2+1