Six of the best for Richardson

Share this article
Have your say

ARMTHORPE Welfare’s John Richardson won the Doncaster Individual Merit for the sixth time, putting him two wins ahead of his nearest rival, after emerging from a disappointing field of only 12.

Richardson, as he has done in the past, got better as the day went on, winning 21-15 in his first game, and 21-12 in his second.

He played Yorkshire Main’s Matthew Holmes in the final and signalled his intentions by scoring two at each of the first three ends.

Holmes won the next two ends, before Richardson won the next nine to lead 19-2. His opponent briefly rallied, winning four of the next five ends, before Richardson scored the point he needed for a 21-9 win.

First round results: Alan Broughton (Parklands) 10 Steve Shannon (UNISON) 21, Eamon Costello (Parklands) 19 Mick O’Brien (Armthorpe Welfare) 21, Barbara Binks (Bawtry) 4 Alan Bell (Brodsworth Welfare) 21, Liz Hall (Parklands) 11 Matthew Holmes (Yorkshire Main) 21.

Quarter-finals: Steve Shannon 20 Mick O’Brien 21, Alan Bell 16 Matthew Holmes 21, John Richardson (Armthorpe Welfare) 21 Denise Allin (Bawtry) 15, Barry Binks (Bawtry) 21 Hilary Bennett (Yorkshire Main) 12.

Semi-finals: Mick O’Brien 14 Matthew Holmes 21, John Richardson 21 Barry Binks 12. Final: Matthew Holmes 9 John Richardson 21.

Pilkington Recreation carded a 155-152 Midweek League Division One at Maltby.

Dave Henson (21-6), Richard Commons (21-3) and Melvin Axe (21-5) were on top form for Armthorpe in their 146-109 Division Two win over Adwick.

Gary Potter (21-7) was one of only two winners for Rossington as Stuart Foers (21-5) and Steve Shannon (21-9) kept up Unison’s promotion challenge with a 145-117 victory.

Charlie Wootton and Kevin Richardson both won 21-7 for Pilkingtons Rec B, but Yorkshire Main remained top of the league after their 135-119 victory thanks to Hilary Bennett (21-6) and John Williams (21-2).

Keith Huckerby’s 21-7 win was the only crumb of comfort for Unison as their promotion hopes all but disappeared with a 154-122 thumping at league leaders Yorkshire Main.

Mick O’Sullivan (21-7) and Ken Crowcroft (21-6) gave Yorkshire Main another win (138-122) with Brendan Glynn replying 21-9 for Eden Grove-Peglers.

Last man Enoch Walker (21-8) just failed to draw the match for Brodsworth, beaten 140-139 by Division Three visitors Askern.

League leaders Parklands suffered a surprise defeat (139-135) despite a 21-8 win from Eamon Costello as Chris Case (21-6) helped secure Hexthorpe the spoils.

Terry Walton (21-5) and Chris Pattison (21-4) were on good form for Denaby B in their 132-116 win over Yorkshire Main B, for whom George Boothman won 21-9.