Scholarship scheme for Eagles of the future

SHEFFIELD Eagles have recruited a team of current and former players to launch a scholarship scheme producing rugby league stars of the future.

Wednesday, 26th September 2007, 10:20 am
Updated Thursday, 27th September 2007, 9:29 am

The club's development officer and first team half-back Gavin Brown will run the scheme which has given places to 21 youngsters.

Joining Brown will be current players Simon Morton and former club favourites Richard Goddard and Lee Bettinson.

The youngsters have been split into age groups from under-13 to under 16s and will receive coaching, a strength and fitness programme and lifestyle advice. They will continue to play with their local amateur sides across South Yorkshire.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

"The club's ambition is to one day boast a first team squad of locally-produced players who are passionate about playing for Eagles," said Brown.

"The club will be working with the scholars' amateur clubs, schools and parents to ensure we are producing not only better rugby players but also role models within the community."

The first batch of young players chose to join the scheme are:

Under-13: Aidan King (Toll Bar); Jack Mitchell, Morgan Brindley, Cory Aston, Greg Burns,Kieran Dyson (all Hillsborough Hawks).

Unders-14: Jamie Heppenstall, Ben Hawksworth, Dominic Shaw (all Hillsborough Hawks).

Unders-15: - Cory Vivian, Joe Furness, Andrew Farrow, Srefan Kazmierski, Billy Chappel (all Hillsborough Hawks); Kane Feek (Barnsley RUFC), Joe Horsey (Sheffield Forgers).

Under-16: Chris Rodgers, Chris Ferris (Hoyland Vikings); Adam Brook, Corey Hanson, Patrick O'Leary (all Hillsborough Hawks).