Sheffield to host five nations in 2021 Rugby League World Cup

Sheffield will host five nations in the 2021 Rugby League World Cup – including the current wheelchair champions France.

Wednesday, 10th June 2020, 9:47 pm
Updated Thursday, 11th June 2020, 1:54 pm

As well as the 2017 champions, the city will also host Greece’s men’s team in their first ever Rugby League World Cup as well as wheelchair sides from Wales, Scotland and the USA.

The Samoa squad will be based in Doncaster, with champions Australia and hosts England both in London.

The competition will take place between 23 October and 27 November 2021. Bramall Lane will host one men’s group game, while one wheelchair group match and both semi-finals of the wheelchair event will be played at EIS Sheffield.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Five nations will be based in Sheffield for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup.

Councillor Mary Lea, cabinet member for culture, parks and leisure at Sheffield City Council, said: “Whilst we look forward to the competition commencing in 500 days, and to welcoming athletes and spectators from across the UK and around the world, we must do so carefully and with utmost consideration to the safety and wellbeing of players and fans alike. The pandemic has left sports in a very different place to what it was a year ago and we have to respect that challenges will need to be overcome to make this event one to remember for all the right reasons.

“Sheffield is proud to be an inclusive city with a rich sporting history which perfectly represents the values of this tournament. This exciting event will no doubt leave a long-lasting legacy celebrating the heritage of rugby league and inspiring our fans and players of the future.”

Visit for ticket information.