DONCASTER DONS: Coach of the year crown awaits boss Tony Miller

Favourite: Dons boss Tony Miller
Favourite: Dons boss Tony Miller
Share this article
Have your say

DONCASTER Rugby League Club boss Tony Miller is favourite to be named Championship One Coach of the Year award in Leeds tonight.

Miller steered the Dons to top spot in the table for the first time in their history, playing an exciting brand of attacking rugby, and the club have also won through to Sunday’s Grand Final at Warrington.

Miller, who is in his second spell in charge a the club, faces competition from former Dons’ forward Joe Mbu (London Skolars) and former Doncaster Knights Rugby Union Club director of rugby, Clive Griffiths (North Wales Crusaders).

The Keepmoat Stadium club’s stand-off Paul Cooke is one of three-players short-listed for the Championship One Player of the Year, the others being Liam Harrison (Barrow) and Graeme Mattison (Workington Town).

Cooke, who will miss Sunday’s game against Barrow after fracturing his knee cap playing against the Cumbrians ten days ago, is one of thee Doncaster players in the Championship One Team of the Season.

The other two players selected are centre/full-back Lee Waterman, who broke the club’s try-scoring record, and Cumbrian-born winger Stuart Sanderson.

Sunday’s opponents have four players in the team - Harrison, full-back Andy Ballard, scrum-half Liam Campbell and second-rower Daniel Toal.

The club have a limited number of North (£18)and East (£17) stand tickets for Sunday’s final on sale at their office at the Keepmoat Stadium.