World Snooker Championship 2020: full live TV schedule, how to get tickets, prize money and previous champions

The winner of the winners trophy will be lifted on Sunday evening  (Getty Images)The winner of the winners trophy will be lifted on Sunday evening  (Getty Images)
The winner of the winners trophy will be lifted on Sunday evening (Getty Images)
Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mark Selby, Kyren Wilson and Anthony McGill are all vying to earn a place at the final at the Sheffield Crucible

The showpiece final for the most prestigious tournament in snooker takes place this weekend at the Crucible in Sheffield.

Semi-finals are ongoing with Mark Selby taking on Ronnie O’Sullivan and Kyren Wilson taking on Anthony McGill.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Traditionally held in springtime, the tournament was pushed back until August due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The final is set to host one of the first live sporting audiences in the UK since the pandemic lockdown.

When is the World Snooker Championship final?

The semi-finals will reach their conclusion this evening (August 14)

The final will be contested by the two winners over four sessions in a best of 35 frames format.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The first session gets underway at 1.30pm on Saturday (August 15), while the first evening session of the final takes place at 7.30pm.

On Sunday (August 16) the two sessions also take place at 1.30pm and 7.30pm.

How do I watch the World Snooker Championship in the UK?

BBC will be showing all the action live from the Crucible.

BBC One and BBC Two will be taking turns to show live coverage.

Those looking for uninterrupted coverage can do so by tuning in to the BBC Sport website’s live stream.

Eurosport are also providing coverage of the final.

BBC Schedule

Saturday 15 August

BBC One: 1:15pm

BBC Two: 4:30pm and 7:30pm

Sunday 16 August

BBC Two: 1:30pm and 7:30pm

How to get tickets

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Snooker fans will be allowed to watch the final live after the UK government gave the green light to test live events.

Limited tickets are still available for both evening sessions at

Tickets are available in fixed group sizes (bubbles) where 1, 2, 3 or 4 tickets are seated together and each group is distanced from the other groups in the auditorium.

Each bubble can be purchased by only one booker and are strictly limited to a maximum of 2 households.

What’s the prize money for winners?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Winners of the World title will walk away with half-a-million, while runners-up will clinch £200,000.

Losing semi-finalists will pick up a cheque for £100,000

Winner: £500,000

Runner-up: £200,000

Semi-finalists: £100,000

Quarter-finalists: £50,000

Last 16: £30,000

Last 32: £20,000

Who were the previous world champions?

Ronnie O’Sullivan is vying to win his first championship since 2013, while Mark Selby is aiming to clinch his fourth title in seven years.

Here are the twenty previous winners of the tournament:

2000: Mark Williams

2001: Ronnie O'Sullivan

2002: Peter Ebdon

2003: Mark Williams

2004: Ronnie O'Sullivan

2005: Shaun Murphy

2006: Graeme Dott

2007: John Higgins

2008: Ronnie O'Sullivan

2009: John Higgins

2010: Neil Robertson

2011: John Higgins

2012: Ronnie O'Sullivan

2013: Ronnie O'Sullivan

2014: Mark Selby

2015: Stuart Bingham

2016: Mark Selby

2017: Mark Selby

2018: Mark Williams

2019: Judd Trump