Merit win gives Daniel double

Have your say

ARMTHORPE Welfare’s Daniel Hallas picked up his second trophy of the season, adding the Doncaster Gents Merit to the Doncaster Doubles, when defeating club-mate and holder John Richardson in the final on Sunday.

Hallas defeated his younger brother Simon in the semi-final, while Richardson disposed of 2008 runner-up Alan Broughton.

It was Richardson who took an early 5-2 lead in the final as he bid to win the competition for the third time.

But Hallas won the next three ends to draw level. The jack changed hands several times in the following ends, until from 13-11 up Hallas won five ends in a row to take a hold on the game at 19-11.

Richardson refused to give up, however, and won five of the next six ends to close to 17-20, but the task proved just too much as Daniel won the last end for a 21-17 win.

First round results: Paddy Moyles (Bawtry) 8 Simon Hallas (Armthorpe Welfare) 21, Steve Shannon (Unison) 21 Maurice Mortlock (Adwick St Lawrence) 13, Darren Stevenson (Maltby Bowling Club) 21 Neil Cullingworth (Eden Grove-Peglers) 4, Barry Binks (Bawtry) 10 Daniel Hallas (Armthorpe Welfare) 21, Craig Bamford (Hexthorpe Flatts) 15 Eamon Costello (Parklands) 21, Shawn Laycock (Woodlands Park) 16 Alan Broughton (Parklands) 21, Eric Cullingworth (Eden Grove-Peglers) 21 Brian Greaves (Thorne Colliery) 10, John Richardson (Armthorpe Welfare) 21 Ted Owens (Bawtry) 8.

Quarter-finals: Simon Hallas 21 Steve Shannon 19, Darren Stevenson 16 Daniel Hallas 21, Eamon Costello 20 Alan Broughton 21, Eric Cullingworth 10 John Richardson 21.

Semi-finals: Simon Hallas 18 Daniel Hallas 21, Alan Broughton 13 John Richardson 21.

Final: Daniel Hallas 21 John Richardson 17.

Last pair Simon Hallas and Mick Meehan won 21-3 as Armthorpe coasted to an 84-38 Doubles League Division One win over Yorkshire Main. Hexthore edged a 69-68 Division Two win at Adwick.

Thorne had the match won after the first two pairs, with Harold Hawson and Carl Dallas (21-6) and Ces Fowler and Gil Grinney (21-8) winning well in their 66-56 victory over Askern.

Matt Griffiths and Terry Atkins (21-4) and Jim Stocks and Allan Birkby (21-9) were the pick of Bentley Colliery’s winners in their 84-35 Division Three victory over Adwick B.

Harvesters had good wins from Derek Strawbridge and Derek Morris (21-7), Graham Kendell and Walter Barnett (21-9) and Conan Ingram and Judith Rose (21-9) in their 76-46 Division Four win at Westfield Park C.

Frank Law and Peter Devine (21-7) were the only winners for Rossington B in their 70-64 defeat at Westfield Park B.