It’s a treble as veteran Alan makes bowls history

Three of a kind: Alan Broughton with his hat-trick of trophies.      Picture:Steve Taylor
Three of a kind: Alan Broughton with his hat-trick of trophies. Picture:Steve Taylor
Have your say

ALAN Broughton (Parklands) made Doncaster Bowls Association history at Rossington when completing a first-ever clean sweep of veterans’ titles in the same season.

Broughton, who had recently become only the second bowler (Bill Wardman being the first) to win both the Pensioners Merit and the Over-60s Merit in the same season, added the Over-60s Doubles title to his collection.

The 69 year-old partnered clubmate Mick Coulson to a 21-18 victory over the Bawtry pairing of Keith Bullock and Ted Owens in the final.

The Parklands pair signalled their intentions with a score of three at the first end, but soon found themselves 5-4 down, and the Bawtry players were ahead 11-9 after eleven ends of the game.

But Broughton and Coulson then moved up a gear, winning six of the next seven ends to lie 18-12 up and looking comfortable.

Bullock and Owens then won four ends but their opponents kept their nerve to win two of the next three ends to claim victory.

“Alan, who has done well to come back from injury a couple of seasons ago, has had a very good season,” said league secretary Liz Hall. “His feat will take some equalling.

“As far as I know the only final Alan has made prior to this season was in 2006 when he was runner-up in the Hospice Cup.”

She added: “He also made the final of the Triples this year with Eamon Costello and Dave Downie losing 21-19.”

Results -

First round: Reg Cuthbert/Hazel Cuthbert 7 Eric Cullingworth/Mick Poppleton 21, Keith Bullock/Ted Owens 21 Brian Hardy/Jim Pickford 11, Margaret Smith/Barry Binks 19 Jack Richardson/Warwick Buttery 21, Bunty Mosedale/ Peter Lawrence (Hexthorpe Flatts) 8 Alan Broughton/Mick Coulson (Parklands) 21.

Semi-finals: Eric Cullingworth/Mick Poppleton 18 Keith Bullock/Ted Owens 21, Jack Richardson/Warwick Buttery 7 Alan Broughton/Mick Coulson 21.

Final: Keith Bullock/Ted Owens 18 Alan Broughton/Mick Coulson 21.