Tim and Danny are on a winner

Share this article
Have your say

TIM Easterby, who trains at Malton and Yorkshire-based jockey Danny Tudhope lead their respective categories in the race for the Sky Bet Trophies - presented to the leading trainer and jockey who record the most number of winners on the Yorkshire racecourses during the 2012 Flat season, which concludes at Doncaster on Saturday, November 10.

Easterby won the trainers’ award last year with 51 winners, and up to the end of June, he had 21 winners in the bag, four more than David O’Meara, who is based at Nawton near Helmsley. Altogether, Easterby has won this prize four times – the other years being 1999, 2001 and 2002.

Tudhope has ridden 24 winners so far this season on the county’s tracks, seven clear of Robert Winston. Tudhope has yet to win this award, while Winston was successful in 2004, 2005 and 2006.

The trophies will be presented to the respective winners at the ‘Go Racing in Yorkshire’ Awards Lunch in November.