Factfile: The William Hill Lincoln

Sweet Lightning - winner in 2011
Sweet Lightning - winner in 2011
Have your say

The William Hill Lincoln Handicap is a race run at Doncaster over one mile for horses aged four years or older.

Established in 1853, this race is traditionally the curtain-raiser to the flat season and is an ultra-competitive contest.

It makes up the ‘Spring Double’ along with the Grand National.

Attracting a stellar field annually it often sees some of the best mile handicappers in the business doing battle with fields in excess of 20 lining up every season.

In recent years, Paul Cole has had a tremendous record in the race.

Between 1997 and 2001 he managed to train the winner three times with Kuala Lips bagging his first title with Nimello recording his last.

It was always a tough race for favourites and during the 1980s and 1990s only one favourite prevailed with John Dunlop’s Right Wing bagging glory at 9/2 favourite in the 1999 renewal.

However, more recently there have been a number of market leaders take the prize with John Gosden’s Expresso Star and William Haggas’ well-backed Penitent bagging glory in the 2009 and 2010 renewals, respectively.

Recent winners

2000 John Ferneley 7/1 JF

2001 Nimello 9/2 F

2002 Zucchero 33/1

2003 Pablo 5/1

2004 Babodana 20/1

2005 Stream of Gold 5/1 F

2006 Blythe Knight 2/1

2007 Very Wise 9/1

2008 Smokey Oakey 10/1

2009 Expresso Star 10/3 F

2010 Penitent 3/1 F

2011 Sweet Lightning 16/1

2012 Brae Hill 25/1

2013 Levitate 20/1

William Hill Lincoln

Saturday - schedule

Gates open: 11.30am

Number of races: 7

1.30 – The William Hill In The App Store Doncaster Mile (Listed) 1m

2.05 – The William Hill Download The App Brocklesby Conditions Stakes 5f

2.40 – The William Hill Bet On The Move Cammidge Trophy (Listed) 6f

3.15 – The William Hill Spring Mile 1m

3.50 – The William Hill Lincoln Handicap 1m

4.25 – The Park Hill Hospital Maiden Stakes 1m 2f 60y

5.00 – The Harriet De-Vere Powell Apprentice Handicap 1m 2f 60y

History in the making?

Three former winners, Levitate (2013), Brae Hill (2012) and Sweet Lightning (2011), are set to run on Saturday.

Should any of the trio succeed, they would become the first dual winner of the one-mile event since Babur in 1958.


Premier £39, County £29.50, Grandstand £19, Family £7.50.

For more information visit www.doncaster-racecourse.co.uk or phone 01302 304 200.