Wait is over

Share this article
Have your say

FOR the first time since 1978, Abbeydale Golf Club have won the Sheffield Golf Union’s Second Teams Competition.

Their team of Andrew Priestley (76), Jed Kenyon (73) and James Proctor (76) totalled an aggregate 225 at Doncaster Town Moor and pushed Bondhay into second place by six shots on 231, the same as third-placed Rotherham GC.

Abbeydale were back to back winners of this event in 1977 and 1978 but this is the first time since that they have lifted the Second Teams Competition trophy.

Fourth were Lees Hall (232), then Doncaster TM 234, Renishaw 235, Sickleholme, 236, Crookhill 236 and Sitwell 236.