Franklin leads Bawtry charge

Share this article
Have your say

LAST man Paul Franklin won 21-9 to clinch a 185-165 Doncaster Bowls Association Saturday League Section A win for Bawtry over visiting Roundwood.

Craig Rumney and Ross Taylor both won 21-9 for Pilkingtons Recreation but Terry O’Brien (21-7), Mark Davies (21-5) and Mick Cox (21-9) saw Mexborough home 185-145.

John Richards (21-5) was the match-winner for Yorkshire Main in their 173-166 victory over Thorpe Marsh Bentley, for whom Eric Wright won 21-6.

Chris Simpson (21-5) and Ian Wilson (21-9) were both on good form for Rossington in their 186-143 Section B win at Armthorpe.

Sheila Dawson (21-4) couldn’t save Eden Grove-Peglers from a 177-170 defeat as Mick Richardson (21-8) starred for Maltby Main.

Andrew Baker won 21-8 for Roundwood B in their 179-161 victory with Rob McGuire winning by the same score for beaten Parklands.

Dave Rogers (21-4), Steve Shannon (21-6) and Graham Garnett (21-3) were all on sparkling form for league leaders Westfield Park in their impressive 201-116 win over Maltby Main.

Carl Perks (21-4), Chris Case (21-4), Jane Morris (21-7) and Chris Haigh (21-6) all won easily for Hexthorpe in their 202-133 Section C win over Brodsworth.

Wickersley Village had good wins from Paul Raleigh and John Adnitt (both 21-7) and Brian Roberts (21-8) in their 196-159 victory over Askern.

Yorkshire Main B posted a 184-180 win over visiting Wickersley Village.

Fred Harrison (21-8), Bernard Whittaker (21-9), Alan Marsden (21-8) and Phil Bamford (21-0)all shone for Hexthorpe B in their 198-110 Section D win over Pilks Pensioners.

Eddie Dixon (21-3) starred for Rossington B in their 189-169 victory over Bawtry B.

Judith Rose chalked up an impressive 21-0 win for for Harvesters in their 195-125 victory over Pilks Pensioners.

Thorne Colliery beat Harvesters 198-110 (corrected result).

First pair Paul Lawrence and John Richardson recorded a 21-4 win for Denaby. in their 77-66 Doubles League Division One win over Carcroft.

Hilary Bennett and Ken Crowcroft (21-9) and John Williams and Martin Henry (21-7) both won well for Yorkshire Main in their 84-56 victory over Rossington.

Dennis Reilly and Mick Wainwright (21-5) were the only winners for Askern as Graham Garnett and Darren Rogers (21-9) won to help give Westfield Park a 68-56 Division Two victory. Park. Hexthorpe suffered a narrow 74-72 defeat at home to Parklands.