Terriers break League record

Have your say

Huddersfield Town made history after breaking the Football League record for the longest unbeaten run with a 2-1 win over Notts County.

Jordan Rhodes opened the scoring in the 46th minute and then doubled his side’s lead in the 65th minute - not long after the Terriers had lost Alan Lee to a red card.

Sixth-placed Notts County pulled a goal back late on through Neal Bishop but it was not enough to deny second-placed Huddersfield their 43rd consecutive unbeaten match.

Despite the win, Huddersfield remain five points behind leaders Charlton after Chris Powell’s men recorded a 1-0 win at London rivals Brentford, Bradley Wright-Phillips scoring the only goal of the game in the 64th minute.

MK Dons, in fourth, also trailed away to Colchester before recovering to record a thumping 5-1 victory.

Matt Heath gave Colchester a 24th-minute lead but it was largely downhill for the home side after that as MK Dons struck twice before half-time through Charlie MacDonald and Tom Flanagan before MacDonald, Stephen Gleeson and Jabo Ibehre added further goals in the last 16 minutes.

Stevenage were unable to take advantage of Notts County’s defeat and climb into the top six as they were held 0-0 at Leyton Orient.

At the bottom of the table, Yeovil climbed off the foot after drawing 2-2 at home with Exeter. Edward Upson gave Yeovil a second-minute lead but Exeter hit back almost immediately to equalise through Jake Taylor and a John O’Flynn penalty put the visitors in front on 30 minutes.

A Dominic Blizzard goal just after half-time drew Yeovil level though and that goal earned his side a point.

Replacing Yeovil in bottom spot are Chesterfield, who were thumped 5-2 at Oldham, for whom Robbie Simpson scored a hat-trick.

Kieran Lee and Shefki Kuqi were also on the mark for the home side with Chesterfield’s replies coming from Craig Westcarr and Leon Clarke.

Another side struggling in the relegation zone, Wycombe, fell to a 1-0 home defeat against Bournemouth. Marc Pugh scored the only goal of the game in the 23rd minute.

Gary Jones’ failure from 12 yards out did not cost Rochdale dear at Preston as Nicky Adams would later net an 84th-minute winner for the visitors.

Hartlepool won 2-0 at Scunthorpe with goals from Andy Monkhouse and Antony Sweeney, while Bury were 4-2 winners at Walsall.

Peter Sweeney, Mike Jones, Steven Schumacher and Lenell John-Lewis struck the goals for Bury with Walsall’s replies coming from a Jonathan Macken penalty and George Bowerman.