Sheffield Wednesday: Barry Bannan and Steven Fletcher earn Scotland call-ups

Barry Bannan
Barry Bannan
Have your say

Sheffield Wednesday duo Barry Bannan and Steven Fletcher have been selected in the Scotland squad for their World Cup qualifier against Malta next month.

Midfielder Bannan, named in the PFA Championship team of the year last season, and summer signing Fletcher have been included in the 27-man group. Fletcher is still looking to open his Owls account after four appearances.

Stephen Fletcher

Stephen Fletcher

BREAKING NEWS:|Sheffield Wednesday:Vincent Sasso gives us all the defensive otions we need says Carlos Carvalhal|click here}|Sheffield Wednesday:Leeds United showed we'll be found out if we're not on our game admits Tom Lees|click here}|Sheffield Wednesday:Player ratings: Sheffield Wednesday 0 Leeds United 2 - Who was Owls stand out player?|click here}|Sheffield Wednesday: We made it too easy for Leeds United says Tom Lees|click here}|Sheffield Wednesday:Video: Dom Howson on Sheffield Wednesday's 2-0 defeat to Leeds united|click here}

Scots boss Gordon Strachan has also called up youngsters Jack Hamilton, Callum Paterson, Kieran Tierney, Oliver Burke, John McGinn and Barrie McKay ahead of the qualifier, which takes place on Sunday, September 4, at the National Stadium, Ta'Qali, Malta.

Scotland squad:


Craig Gordon (Celtic)

Jack Hamilton (Heart of Midlothian)

David Marshall (Cardiff City)


Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town)

Gordon Greer (Blackburn Rovers)

Grant Hanley (Newcastle United)

Alan Hutton (Aston Villa)

Russell Martin (Norwich City)

Callum Paterson (Heart of Midlothian)

Andrew Robertson (Hull City)

Kieran Tierney (Celtic)


Ikechi Anya (Watford)

Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday)

Oliver Burke (Nottingham Forest)

Darren Fletcher (West Bromwich Albion)

James Forrest (Celtic)

James McArthur (Crystal Palace)

Kevin McDonald (Fulham)

John McGinn (Hibernian)

Barrie McKay (Rangers)

James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion)

Matt Ritchie (Newcastle United)

Robert Snodgrass (Hull City)


Steven Fletcher (Sheffield Wednesday)

Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)

Chris Martin (Derby County)

Steven Naismith (Norwich City)