BREAKING: Clubs vote to stick with EFL’s plan for deciding season

The majority of clubs have voted in favour of the EFL’s own plan for deciding the 2019/20 season, it has been confirmed.

Tuesday, 9th June 2020, 1:00 pm
Updated Tuesday, 9th June 2020, 1:27 pm

And League One and League Two clubs will vote this afternoon on whether to curtail the season or attempt to resume the campaign.

Championship clubs such as Sheffield Wednesday and Barnsley have been given the green light to resume their campaign, and will do so starting on June 20.

The vote of EFL clubs provides clarity to the Owls and the Reds on how the season will be determined should they be unable to complete their remaining regular season matches.

Sign up to our Sheffield Wednesday newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

There was a blow for Barnsley within the vote however, as their proposal for there to be no relegation from any division which could not be completed was voted down by clubs.

Rotherham United have received a considerable boost with the outcome of the vote. Should League One clubs, as expected, vote to curtail, they will be handed automatic promotion to the Championship.

It is expected that League Two clubs will affirm their earlier decision to curtail the fourth tier season.

And League One clubs are expected to follow suit, despite strong resistance to this from a group of clubs determined to play on.

All 71 EFL clubs were invited to a meeting on Tuesday morning to consider proposals for determining how the campaign would be decided in the event the season is curtailed.

The EFL board had laid out a framework which would see final places decided by an unweighted points per game calculation, with automatic promotion, relegation and a four-team play-off take place as normal.

A statement from the EFL read: “At an Extraordinary General Meeting on Tuesday 9 June, EFL Clubs voted on proposals in respect of changes to EFL Regulations in the event season 2019/20 is curtailed.

“Proposals were submitted by Barnsley and Tranmere Rovers alongside amendments to an EFL Board proposal which were put forward by Lincoln City, Stevenage and Ipswich Town.

“Following a vote on each by all 71 Clubs, it was overwhelmingly agreed (by a majority of all Clubs and a majority in the Championship) to adopt the EFL Board’s proposal into EFL Regulations, which now means the following applies in the event a division curtails its 2019/20 season or it is ended by any other means.

“1. Final divisional placings will be determined on unweighted points per game (if required).

“2. Promotion and relegation should be retained.

“3. Play-Offs will be played in all circumstances but will not be extended (beyond four teams).

“Clubs in Leagues One and Two will now meet by division later today to formally determine whether to resume playing the 2019/20 season or opt for curtailment. The Championship Clubs restart their season on 20 June.

“EFL chair, Rick Parry, said: “Whilst it has always remained the Board’s position to play the remainder of the season where possible, the decision reached at today’s meeting follows a full and considered consultation period with our member Clubs. The Board has endeavoured to listen to all views and alternative approaches but understands that the decisions taken will not be met with universal satisfaction from all Clubs.

“Today’s outcome ensures that the League and its Clubs remains as faithful as possible to the previously agreed Regulations and that there is consistency in the approach adopted across the EFL in all divisions if required.

“It is clear that the challenges facing the League from the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic are unprecedented and I thank the contribution of EFL Clubs in making this important determination.”

Should the League One season be curtailed, Coventry City and Rotherham will be handed automatic promotion to the Championship while Tranmere Rovers, Southend United and Bolton Wanderers will be relegated to League Two.

Wycombe Wanderers, Oxford United, Portsmouth and Fleetwood Town will compete in the play-offs, with Peterborough United dropping out.

In League Two, Swindon Town, Crewe Alexandra and Plymouth Argyle will receive automatic promotion. The play-offs will be contested by Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, Colchester United and Northampton Town.

As it stands, Stevenage will be relegated to the National League. However, Macclesfield Town have pending EFL charges which could see them receive a points deduction which would relegate them instead.


A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this story on our website. While I have your attention, I also have an important request to make of you.

With the coronavirus lockdown having a major impact on many of our advertisers - and consequently the revenue we receive - we are more reliant than ever on you taking out a digital subscription.

Subscribe to The Star website and enjoy unlimited access to local news and information online and on our app. With a digital subscription, you can read more than 5 articles, see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content.

Our journalism costs money and we rely on advertising, print and digital revenues to help to support them. By supporting us, we are able to support you in providing trusted, fact-checked content for this website.

Thank you

Nancy Fielder, editor