Sheffield United and Barnsley recognised at EFL Awards for youth development

England stars Kyle Walker and Harry Maguire both came through Sheffield United's Academy
England stars Kyle Walker and Harry Maguire both came through Sheffield United's Academy
Have your say

Sheffield United and Barnsley were recognised at Sunday night's EFL Awards for their role in the development of three England internationals.

The Special Recognition Award was created for the 2018 edition to celebrate the EFL’s continued commitment to youth development, showcasing the players ‘born and raised’ in the EFL.

As such a star-studded XI was named featuring stars of the Premier League and full internationals.

Sheffield United reared Kyle Walker and Harry Maguire were named in the team, as was John Stones who was developed at Barnsley.

Walker moved to Tottenham Hotspur from the Blades in 2009 in a joint move with Kyle Naughton. On Sunday he won his first Premier League title with Manchester City to go along with his 34 England caps.

Fellow United academy graduate Maguire, who was sold to Hull City in 2014, has developed into a formidable Premier League centre-back. Leicester City completed a multi-million move for him in the summer and he has earned four England caps.

Barnsley-born Stones enjoyed a meteoric rise from the Tykes to Everton to the England set-up and on to Manchester City who signed the centre-back for £47.5 million.

Prior to the awards Shaun Harvey, EFL Chief Executive, said: “A new addition to the proceedings will see a Special Recognition Award celebrate those players who have learned their trade in the EFL and progressed to become household names both home and abroad with the first ever naming of an EFL Club Developed XI.

“This Award will provide the evening with a fantastic opportunity to shine a spotlight on the important role the EFL can play in the development of the next generation of footballers.”

Special Recognition - EFL Club Developed XI: Joe Hart (Shrewsbury Town); Kyle Walker (Sheffield United), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham), John Stones (Barnsley), Harry Maguire (Sheffield United); Lewis Cook (Leeds United), Jonjo Shelvey (Charlton Athletic), Dele Alli (MK Dons), Aaron Ramsey (Cardiff City); Raheem Sterling (QPR), Callum Wilson (Coventry City).