Doncaster Rovers: Dozen won’t be retained.

Uncertain future: James Hayter is one of 12 Rovers players who will be released.       Picture: Andrew Roe.
Uncertain future: James Hayter is one of 12 Rovers players who will be released. Picture: Andrew Roe.
Have your say

DONCASTER Rovers have announced their retained players list and those who will be allowed to leave the club.

Manager Dean Saunders has had to make some tough decisions as he begins the rebuilding process after relegation from the Championship to League One this season.

Amongst those who are staying are several who are sure to attract the attention of other clubs.

And in the released list the club have added that they’re in negotiations with several players who may end up staying at the Keepmoat as Rovers aim to bounce back with promotion at the first attempt.

One of the most high profile names on the released list is striker James Hayter.

The 32-year-old arrived in South Yorkshire from the south coast in a £200,000 move from Bournemouth in 2007.

He scored 39 goals in 121 starts for the club but contributed just five this season in 33 appearances.

Another is French midfielder Fabien Robert. However, Robert is known to have impressed Saunders during his spell with Rovers so could make a return.

Simon Gillett and Sam Hird are two others who may have done enough to warrant a renegotiated deal with the club.Doncaster will have to make harsh financial decisions if they are to remain stable in League One. A player of James Coppinger’s calibre has already attracted admiring advances from Ipswich Town, so could be allowed to leave if a suitable transfer fee can be arranged.

The full list of players retained by Rovers is: Kyle Bennett, James Husband, Gary Woods, Habib Beye, Chris Brown, James Coppinger, George Friend, Shelton Martis, James O’Connor, Tommy Spurr, Brian Stock, Neil Sullivan and Martin Woods.

Youngsters Jordan Ball, Jonathan Maxted, Andrew McCormick, Patrick Mullen and Liam Wakefield have been offered contracts.

Released by Rovers are James Baxendale, Rachid Bouhenna, James Chambers, Mustapha Dumbuya, Simon Gillett, James Hayter, Sam Hird, Paul Keegan, Adam Lockwood, John Oster, Damien Plessis and Fabien Robert.

Giles Barnes and Oscar Radford have also left the Keepmoat after their contracts ended on May 6.