Top honour for Sheridan from peers

editorial image
Share this article
Have your say

Chesterfield manager John Sheridan has been named as the LMA Manager of the Year for npower League Two.

He was presented with his award at the League Managers Association’s 19th Annual Awards Dinner hosted at The Hilton, Park Lane, London.

The award, voted for by his fellow managers, recognised taking Chesterfield to promotion as champions of League Two.

Sheridan said: “To receive such an award at the end of the season recognises that we have achieved our ultimate goal and I am so proud of all my players for what we have achieved together.”

Meanwhile, the B2net Stadium hasn’t finished staging fixtures for 2010-11. Soap stars and former Spireites stalwarts are due to appear there on Sunday, at 3pm, in a charity match organised by ex Chesterfield and Rotherham United striker Phillip Walker.

Walker’s son, Jamie, recovered from cancer and ever since has been putting his name to an annual match to raise funds for the Shannon Bradshaw Trust and the Lymphoma Association.

Included in the Chesterfield XI are Ernie Moss, Jamie Hewitt, Andy Morris, Andy Kowalski, Alan Birch, Phil Bonnyman, Bob Newton, Sean O’Neill, John Turner, Chris Marples, Shane Nicholson and Dave Caldwell.

Adults £5, concessions £3, family tickets £12.