Barnsley FC: 2016/17 fixtures

Barnsley FC - fans can't wait for a season in the Championship
Barnsley FC - fans can't wait for a season in the Championship
Have your say

Buoyant Barnsley will open their Championship season with a trip to Ipswich Town.

The Reds, who won two Trophies at Wembley Stadium last season and secured promotion to the second tier, begin their campaign on August 6, at Portman Road.



Their first home match is the following Saturday against Derby County.

And their first South Yorkshire derby is at home to Rotherham United on August 27.

Barnsley fans will travel to Hillsborough to face Sheffield Wednesday on Tuesday, December 13.

The return home game is on April Fools Day!

Reds at Wembley

Reds at Wembley

And the Tykes' festive fixtures include Blackburn Rovers at home on Boxing Day and hosting Birmingham City on New Year's Eve.

The League season wraps up at Newcastle United on May 7.



SAT06 AUG Ipswich Town Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT13 AUG Derby CountySky Bet Championship15:00H

TUE16 AUG Queens Park Rangers Sky Bet Championship19:45H

SAT20 AUG Huddersfield Town Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT27 AUG Rotherham United Sky Bet Championship15:00H


SAT10 SEP Preston North End Sky Bet Championship15:00A

TUE13 SEP Wolverhampton Wanderers Sky Bet Championship19:45A

SAT17 SEP Reading Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT24 SEP Brighton and Hove Albion Sky Bet Championship15:00A

TUE27 SEP Aston Villa Sky Bet Championship19:45H


SAT01 OCT Leeds United Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT15 OCT Fulham Sky Bet Championship15:00H

TUE18 OCT Newcastle United Sky Bet Championship19:45H

SAT22 OCT Brentford Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT29 OCT Bristol City Sky Bet Championship15:00H


SAT05 NOV Burton Albion Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT19 NOV Wigan Athletic Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT26 NOV Nottingham Forest Sky Bet Championship15:00H


SAT03 DEC Birmingham City Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT10 DEC Norwich City Sky Bet Championship15:00H

TUE13 DEC Sheffield Wednesday Sky Bet Championship19:45A

SAT17 DEC Cardiff City Sky Bet Championship15:00A

MON26 DEC Blackburn Rovers Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT31 DEC Birmingham City Sky Bet Championship15:00H


MON02 JAN Nottingham Forest Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT14 JAN Fulham Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT21 JAN Leeds United Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT28 JAN Rotherham United Sky Bet Championship15:00A

TUE31 JAN Wolverhampton Wanderers Sky Bet Championship19:45H


SAT04 FEB Preston North End Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT11 FEB Reading Sky Bet Championship15:00A

TUE14 FEB Aston Villa Sky Bet Championship19:45A

SAT18 FEB Brighton and Hove Albion Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT25 FEB Huddersfield Town Sky Bet Championship15:00H


SAT04 MAR Derby County Sky Bet Championship15:00A

TUE07 MAR Queens Park Rangers Sky Bet Championship19:45A

SAT11 MAR Ipswich Town Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT18 MAR Norwich City Sky Bet Championship15:00A


SAT01 APR Sheffield Wednesday Sky Bet Championship15:00H

TUE04 APR Cardiff City Sky Bet Championship19:45H

SAT08 APR Blackburn Rovers Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT15 APR Wigan Athletic Sky Bet Championship15:00A

MON17 APR Brentford Sky Bet Championship15:00H

SAT22 APR Bristol City Sky Bet Championship15:00A

SAT29 APR Burton Albion Sky Bet Championship15:00H