Meersbrook Bowling Club
Meersbrook Bowling Club
Have your say

meersbrook Bowling Club, pictured, beat Bradfield in the final of the British Parks Club Championship and the South Yorkshire Ladies, pictured, won the British County Championship.

The British Parks inter-county club championship was played in East Midlands o and from 14 clubs who started at 10am, two South Yorkshire teams, Meersbrook Bowling Club and Bradfield, contested the final at 6pm. Meersbrook beat Queens Royal of Wallasey in the first round at Washlands No.3 green with nine winners and only one loser, whilst Bradfield beat Tixall of Birkenhead 201 to 124 at Tutbury with eight winners to two losers. Meersbrook repeated their earlier excellent performance with nine winners against Pudsey BC in the quarter-finals at Marston Sports, and carried their tremendous form into the semi-finals beating Old Whittington 206-143 at Stretton Anglesey, again with nine winning cards. Bradfield received a quarter-final walkover with their intended opponents from Central Lancashire who themselves had received a first round bye, failing to appear on the day. After a three hour gap Bradfield then defeated the local champions Belvedere in their semi-final at Washlands No. 3 191-167 with seven winners to three. Meersbrook then returned to Washlands to play the final against their local Sheffield league rivals Bradfield on the number 1 green. Andy Mailer and Richard Atkin came off first winning 21-6 and 21-10 over Frank Woodhead and Peter Tomlinson respectively to give Bradfield an early advantage, but in a reversal of the situation in the county cup final two weeks previously between the same teams, Meersbrook won the next 7 games to put the final to bed. Ernie Wearing 21 Mick Crawshaw 13, Peter Jukes 21 Peter Worfolk 17, Andy Sorsby 21 Chris Hill 18, Paul Bailey 21 Andy Turner 14, Jack Clarke 21 Steve Lonnia 16, Andy Whitaker 21 Chris Fowler 16, Mark Barlow 21 Gary Hanson 14. Matt Beever beat Gary Ainley 21-15 to give a final score of 178-171 in favour of Meersbrook Bowling Club, who fully deserved their success having won 34 of their 40 individual games on the day.

South Yorkshire Ladies

South Yorkshire Ladies

The South Yorkshire ladies county team beat their local rivals from Yorkshire 429-422 in the final of the ladies county championship on Sunday September 9 with all 24 games taking place on the Waterloo in Blackpool. The winners for South Yorkshire were: Linda Rowland 21-19, Jackie Fraser 21-8, Jean Winchcombe 21-17, Elizabeth Hall 21-17 Karen Whitefoot, Cynthia Tonge 21-17, Debbie Talbot 21-9, Jennifer Wilby 21-8, Sarah Fox 21-17, Susan Hill 21-12, Margaret Swift 21-10, Sarah Clarke 21-20, Christine Davies 21-19 and Kerry Brown 21-18.

Sheffield and District Super League results

Dorothy Hymans 8 Crookesmoor 4 (Mark Johnson 21-11, Neil Rodgers 21-7, Dave Doman 21-18, James Thomas 21-16)

Bradfield 11 Millhouses Park 1 (Dave Hallam 21-12)

Meersbrook BC 10 Woodlands 2 (John Sneddon and Chris Brown away winners)

Armthorpe 8 (Mark Booth 21-6) Meersbrook Park 4 (Kerry Brown 21-5, Joe Westell 21-14, Dave Mills 21-18, Paul Hague 21-12)

Meersbrook Bowling Club now go into the final week of the season with a two point lead over Bradfield.

Sheffield Parks Telegraph League results

Davy 10 Colley 2, Bolehills 5 Stocksbridge BC 7, Crookesmoor 8 Meersbrook BC 4, Hillsborough 9 Bradfield 3, Millhouses Park 2 Whiteley Woods 10. This means that Whiteley Woods have won the league again with a game to spare.

Dave Hallam of Millhouses Park won three games last Sunday in the Rastrick Classic, 21-13 over Ashley Tattersley, 21-20 over the nigh unbeatable this season Gary Ellis, and 21-11 over Dave Gwilliam. Scott Woodward couldn’t quite match Dave’s heroics as he dipped in the third round 21-11 to Jack Dyson.

Mark Farmer won the Ken Spruce Memorial Trophy one-day invitation competition at Denaby Welfare last Sunday beating Keith Banks 21-11 in the final. Semi-finals: Farmer 21 Simon Dinnie 17, Banks 21 Marcus Hill 8.

Sheffield and District Parks Bowling Association results:

Ladies Horton Doubles final at Longley Park: Wadsley House 73 Crookes SC 64.

Wains Handicap final at Crookes SC: Abbey 167 Richmond 156

Presto Veterans Doubles play-offs at Meersbrook Park. Semi-finals: Bradfield C 91 Grenoside C 78, Crookesmoor B 104 Stocksbridge Friendship 101. Final: Bradfield C 94 Crookesmoor B 85.

TThe Barnsley and Wath team lost 6-2 to Rochdale on Sunday September 9 in the grand final of the Federation National Championship play-offs for all the 2012 divisional winners and runners-up.