DONCASTER BOWLS: Richardson’s win in vain as Park taste defeat

editorial image
Have your say

WOODLANDS Park suffered a 182-145 Doncaster Bowls League Saturday League Section A defeat against Denaby despite a 21-8 win from John Richardson.

Len Squire (21-9) was one of only two winners for Bawtry as John Williams (21-7) inspired Yorkshire Main to a 189-160 victory.

Bottom club Adwick B led at the halfway point thanks to Irene Fletcher’s 21-7 win, but Wickersley won all five games in the second half to win their Section C match 183-145.

George Boothman (21-5), Ralph Yates (21-8) and Martin Bowley (21-4) showed up well for Yorkshire Main B, but Brodsworth won the game (157-134) thanks to Enoch Walker (21-5), Shirley Woolley (21-9) and Bill Mahon (21-9). Carl Perks (21-9) stood out for Hexthorpe in their 192-165 win at Parkland B. Jean Hopson (21-9), Brian Coates (21-9) and Brian Stubbs (21-4) ensured that champions Adwick A finished the season with another win (166-156) although Roundwood C captain Anne Hammond (21-5) made a determined effort for the home team.

Marcus Thompson (21-8), Hazel Cuthbert (21-7) and Reg Cuthbert (21-6) were the match winners for Bawtry B in their 177-159 Section D win at Carcroft B. Brenda Staniforth (21-9) helped Thorne clinch the league title, although they lost (168-157) at Rossington B, for whom Colin Harris won 21-6.

Rossington B had the first three winners, including Peter Devine (21-4), but it all went downhill after that with Bob Louden (21-9), Paul Rumney (21-7), Steve Walker (21-4), Calum O’Brien (21-9) and Rob Thompson (21-8) securing Pilks Rec B 181-138 win. Harold Hawson (21-5) and Ivor Parlett (21-8) starred as new champions Thorne beat Carcroft B 200-146.