DONCASTER BOWLS: Duo impress against Denaby

editorial image
Have your say

PILKINGTON Recreation posted a 185-156 Doncaster Bowls Association Saturday League Section A win over Denaby.

Calum O’Brien (21-7) and Charlie Wootton (21-5) stood out for Pilkingtons, with Denaby’s best result coming from captain Sid Price (21-8).

Roundwood boosted their title chances at the expense of rivals Woodlands Park with wins from Pauline Draper (21-8) and Keith Roddis (21-7) in their 192-158 win over Park.

Daryl Lysons (21-9) and Mick Corby (21-8) both won well for Carcroft in their 186-168 Section B win over Armthorpe. Peter Butler (21-8) and Keith Johnson (21-6) had good wins for Roundwood B, but captain Ryan Lysons won 21-8 for Carcroft to help them win the match 18-155.

Alan Broughton (21-9) was the best winner for Parklands in their 207-151 victory over Maltby Main. Westfield Park all but clinched the Section B title with wins from Brian Line (21-9), Paul Barnett (21-7), Matt Griffiths (21-9), Steve Shannon (21-5) and Lynne Rogers (21-7). Armthorpe’s only bright spot in a 194-126 defeat was a 21-8 win from Ken Booth.

Sheila Dawson (21-9) helped Eden Grove-Peglers take an early lead, but Parklands rallied in the second half of the game with last man Eamon Costello (21-7) clinching a 176-164 victory. Don Howe (21-6) was on sparkling form for Askern in their 187-164 Section C win over Wickersley.

Alan Marsden (21-8) gave Hexthorpe a chance of winning the match, but last man Peter Heptinstall won 21-4 to leave Brodsworth 18-163 winners.

Carol Raven’s 21-5 win for bottom club Adwick B counted for nothing as Chris Case, Jane Morris and Dave Smith all won 21-7 for Hexthorpe in their 177-148 success.

Alwin Davies (21-8) and Dennis Reilly (21-5) were the best winners for Askern in their 196-136 victory over Yorkshire Main B. Adwick A wrapped up the Section C title in fine style, boasting all ten winners including Brian Stubbs (21-7), Brian Nock (21-6) and Geoff Bratton (21-2) in their 210-116 derby away win at Brodsworth. Bob Howard (21-5), Keith Hall (21-3) and Dave Downey (21-1) were the pick of Wickersley’s winners as they whitewashed opponents Roundwood C 210-116.

Westfield Park B got a good start from John Rix (21-3), but Bawtry B, led by Reg Cuthbert (21-5) hit back to win their Section D clash 173-157.

Kieran Kendell (21-9) and Conan Ingram (21-3) caught the eye for Harvesters in their 179-151 victory over Rossington B.

Chris Anyon won 21-8 as Westfield Park gained their first away win (201-155) of the season at Harvesters.