Whitley will be fancied to regain crown

Share this article
Have your say

WHITLEY Hall will be favourites to retain their South Yorkshire League title when the Premier Division season starts on Saturday.

They have retained all their players and strengthened by bringing in leading all rounder Jim Tasker from Hallam.

They start at Elsecar.

Last season’s runners up Treeton welcome back Chris Cobb as captain after a year playing under Steve Foster although Cobb misses the first couple of games through suspension as they open up at home to newcomers Bradfield.

Scott Cunningham and Greg Norton come in from Wickersley and left arm quick Tom Whittaker from Barnsley. They lose prolific Andy Tomlinson, along with Paul Fenn, to Whiston who have also signed Andy Winstanley from Elsecar, Scott Jones from Aston Hall and Liam Heathcote from Wickersley and Sohail Anwar, an all rounder, successful in the Hampshire League. They are at Barnsley.

Gareth Davis leads Wickersley and they have last season’s top Premier scorer Jonny Younis from Rotherham Phoenix and colleague Mumtaz Ali. They are at Houghton Main.

Elsecar have 2010 top wickettaker Chathura Athukorala returning plus Rob Jones from Wickersley whilst Aston Hall, who start at Wath, have Ryan Tingle from Mexborough.