Whitley close in on treble chance

Have your say

WHITLEY Hall stepped up their bid for a hat-trick of trophies with a comfortable win over Bradfield in the South Yorkshire Senior League Premier Division.

With the Whitworth Cup and the Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy already under their belts Premier champions Whitley Hall are determined to retain the title.

A fine century from opener Chris Siddall set them on the path to 255-4, partner Alex Welsh adding 55, before Bradfield were bowled for 206, Hennie Swart 77, and former Hallam all-rounder Jim Tasker claiming 7-50. Whitley have just three games to go, against Whiston, Wath, and Hallam.

Second-placed Elsecar only managed 148-6 but dismissed hosts Rockingham for 120, Andy Baker 51, the wickets being shared by Iftikhar Afzal and Alan Shore.

Treeton came in at 218-8 and saw off guests Wath for 144, all-rounder Matt Haddock hitting 41no and taking 4-48.

Wickersley rushed out Barnsley for 118, Haidar Jahangir bagging 4-28, and won by ten wickets, Gareth Davis 56no and Shaajhan Younis 49no. Houghton Main and Whiston tied on 174 each, Houghton’s best Lachie McKenna, 52, and Syad Asif, 4-33, while main men for Whiston were Sohail Awan,61, Liam Heathcote,60, and Scott Jones, 5-16.

Aston Hall were high-scorers in the top flight, opener Samrat Sharma belting 124 of their 274-6, visitors Hallam on the back foot at 213-9.

Wickersley B punished Darfield for 350-7 in Division One, Paul Lund hammering 152, Mike Donson 74 and Darren Pugh 57. But it was not enough to beat the leaders, who stormed back with 354-8, Scott Adamson 108, Irfan Mirza 83, and Pete Hadfield, 64.

Whitley Hall failed in the play-offs for the Yorkshire Council Championship yesterday, when they were dismissed for 104,in reply to Central Yorkshire side Methley’s 104-6.

Elsecar did make it to the Council semi-finals, seeing off Pontefract League club Streethouse for 162, Luke Townsend taking three cheap wickets and then hitting an unbeaten half-century in Elsecar’s 163-6.

Results: Whitley Hall 103, Methley 104-6; Ackworth 135 Wickersley 136-9; Streethouse 164 Elsecar 165-7. Div One Play-offs: Carlton 210 Darfield 211-4; Batley 193 Kexborough 194-7.