Whitehurst ton keeps Thurnscoe on target

Have your say

HATFIELD Town bounced back from two defeats to revive their Pontefract and District League Division Two promotion challenge by collecting maximum points at Hemsworth.

Chasing Hatfield’s 181-8 that included 45 by Andy Cutts and 33 from Patrick Platt, Hemsworth were toppled for 155 by Kirk Bennett (3-25), Chris Stothard (3-21) and Carl Rice (3-21).

Askern’s promotion hopes faded when they lost by three wickets at Sprotbrough. Mike Threapleton (4-42 from 14 overs) and Dave Carr (3-20) bowled out Askern for 147. Gordon Laidlaw (37no), James Harris (32) and Threapleton (21) led the way as Sprotbrough knocked off the runs.

Ashley Towler (37), Jeff Morton (28) and Gareth Williams (4-39 from 14 overs) were Askern’s best performers.

Barnby Dun climbed above Askern by overhauling bottom side Darton’s 210-7 for the loss of only four wickets.

Fishlake slipped to second bottom in Division One when they lost to leaders Streethouse.

Peter Butterworth (82), Josh Mason (35) and Tom Elliott (34no) guided Fishlake to 220-6 but it wasn’t enough to deny Streethouse who eased to a three-wicket win thanks to Ismail Patel’s unbeaten century.

Thurnscoe Institute and Sykehouse are both aiming to win promotion for the second year running.

Thurnscoe retained second spot in Division Three by trouncing Frickley Colliery A by 174 runs.

Don Whitehurst (110) and Alex Goddard (36) steered Thurnscoe to 222-8 and ex-Elsecar bowler Aidan Morris (5-18) and 14-year-old Danny Ravenscroft (3-9) skittled Frickley for 48 in reply.

Thurnscoe are nine points clear of third-placed Sykehouse who beat Normanton by two wickets thanks to James Davies (45), Phil Saunders (41) and his brother Peter (4-46).

Thorne Colliery stayed in the promotion chase with a seven-wicket success at Brodsworth Main.

Mazhar Mir (58) guided Thorne to victory after Mark Walton (5-18) skittled Brodsworth for 105. Joe Southam (18) was Brodsworth’s top scorer.

Division Four strugglers Fishlake A, Bullcroft Main and Bentley Colliery all lost.

Bottom team Fishlake A went down by 191 runs at leaders Streethouse A and Bentley were routed for 92 in a five-wicket defeat at Knottingley.

Bullcroft Main are second bottom after Darren Birkett’s seven-wicket haul was in vain at Newton Hill. Birkett (7-39) limited the Wakefield team to 172 but Bullcroft managed just 32 in reply.

Peglers’ Division Five title hopes were dented by a three wicket defeat at Old Sharlston A. It left second-placed Peglers seven points adrift of leaders Ferrybridge Power Station.

Bottom side Sprotbrough A won by 48 runs at Featherstone A who were bowled out for 125, replying to 173-7.

Division Six promotion chasers Thurnscoe A beat Hatfield A by five wickets.

Askern A were skittled for 55 in an eight-wicket home defeat against Division Seven promotion rivals Fairburn A.

Brodsworth Main A were beaten by nine wickets at Pledwick A.