Six-wicket Walker skittles the leaders

Bentley win: Action from the Bentley Colliery v Bullcroft clash
Bentley win: Action from the Bentley Colliery v Bullcroft clash
Share this article
Have your say

FISHLAKE continued their revival in Pontefract and District Division One by beating the leaders for the second week running.

After toppling Fairburn the previous week, Fishlake won at Monk Bretton to knock them off top spot.

Josh Mason (74), Mark Davies (64) and Graham Ackroyd (36) led Fishlake to 247 and Ian Walker (6-37) bowled out Monk Bretton for 151 in reply.

Sprotbrough bounced back from two defeats in Division Two by defeating Whitley Bridge.

Andrew Fairclough (27) and Callum Honeyman (22) guided Sprotbrough to a four-wicket win after Mike Threapleton (5-20) and Dave Carr (2-43) routed Whitley for 107.

Barnby Dun’s three-match winning run ended with a 71-run loss against promotion rivals South Kirkby. Mark Nurse (3-50) and Jonathan Young (29) were Barnby’s best performers.

Hatfield Town lost by six wickets at Hooton Pagnell and Askern went down by 27 runs at Hemsworth.

Gareth Williams (5-28) limited Hemsworth to 149-9 but Askern’s reply collapsed to 122, despite Dean Smith’s 24.

Aidan Morris (76) and Mick Harvey (44) shared an 83-run stand in Thurnscoe Institute’s six-wicket success at Glasshoughton.

Thorne Colliery maintained their Division Three promotion bid with an eight-wicket victory at Darton, who were skittled for 58.

Sykehouse’s poor start continued against Knottingley. Peter Sanders’ 40 was in vain as Sykehouse fell for 145, replying to Knottingley’s 210-6.

Division Four leaders Brodsworth Main dropped their first points with a narrow defeat at Hundhill Hall in a top-of-the-table clash.

Karl Buxton (4-58) kept Hundhill at 185 but Brodsworth were dismissed for 166.

Peglers continued their excellent start by beating Stainborough A by seven wickets.

Phil Langdale (5-11) routed Stainborough for 101 and Ross Adamson hit 53 as Peglers comfortably knocked off the runs

Bentley Colliery and Fishlake A recorded their first league victories.

Bentley defeated Bullcroft Main by three wickets and Kevin Pearson (98) and Andy Teasdale (53) steered Fishlake to 225-8 against Monk Bretton A who replied with 189-6.

Barnby Dun A retained top spot in Division Five by overcoming promotion rivals Crofton A.

Michael Fell (6-26) restricted Crofton to 137 and James Copley finished unbeaten on 60 as Barnby overhauled the target for the loss of seven wickets.

Sprotbrough A won by five wickets at Whitley Bridge A but Thurnscoe A went down by eight wickets against Garforth after being bowled out for 82.

In Division Six, Hatfield A coasted to a 69-run victory over Hooton Pagnell A.

Denis White (43) and Ben Randall (5-36) were Fenwick’s match-winners as they beat Pledwick A by 22 runs in Division Seven.

Askern A lost by five wickets to Hemsworth A.