Rossington’s title as Town win KO Cup

Share this article
Have your say

ROSSINGTON Main took the honours in the second Doncaster All Saints Indoor Cricket League campaign.

Defending champions Hatfield Town didn’t end the season empty-handed, however, they beat Barnby Dun to take the KO Cup following a competitive final.

Parklands celebrated their first season in the league by beating Warmsworth in the Plate final.

Warmsworth’s Tom Whittaker, whose total of 265 included an unbeaten 42, won the award for the most runs in the season.

Three other players, Stewart Groves (Rossington), Chris Stothard (Hatfield Town) and Jay Horne (Barnby Dun), also topped the 200-run mark.

Brookhouse’s Adam Bryant (62 runs) recorded the highest individual score of the season.

Rossington’s Scot Wood won the award for most wickets during the season with 10. Warmsworth’s Mark Shanks (nine) ran him close with Roy Nelson, Jay Horne and youngster Aaron Horsfield all taking eight.

Wood also won the best bowling performance award, with a 3-12 haul. Shanks (3-14) and Brookhouse’s Thomas Green (3-18), also claimed three wickets in a match.

Ian Cotterhill, a member of the newly-structured Yorkshire Cricket Board, made the presentations at Club 39.

Administrator Ashley Boothman, expressed his disappointment that the league lost three of its founder members in its second season but hoped to reverse the the decline next winter.