Promoted side are quickly off the mark

Share this article
Have your say

PROMOTED Sykehouse made a winning starts in Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Three.

Phil Sanders (59) steered last season’s Division Four champions to a six-wicket win at Normanton, who were restricted to 152-9 by Peter Sanders (4-27 from 11 overs) and Richard Munro (3-36 from 12).

Thorne Colliery won a low-scoring game against Brodsworth Main. Jordan Midgeley (5-45 from 14 overs) and Gareth Mountain (4-15 from nine) toppled Thorne for 101.

In reply, Liam Kerrigher’s battling 30 was in vain for Brodsworth, who were routed for 71 by James Stewart (4-22), Mazhar Mir (3-28) and Adam Stewart (2-8).

In Division One, Fishlake lost by 56 runs at Streethouse.

Peter Roper (4-50), Stuart Coleman (63) and Andy Shelton (42no) were Fishlake’s best performers.

Hatfield Town piled up Saturday’s highest total in a 193-run win against Hemsworth in Division Two.

Andy Cutts (77), Chris Stothard (57), Wayne Sylvester (45no) and Nick Page (45) steered Hatfield to 307-8 and Page snapped up 4-18 as Hemsworth were routed for 114 in reply.

Sprotbrough collected maximum points at Askern, who were bowled out for 147 by Tim Brathwaite (4-14), despite David Meggitt’s undefeated 29. Gordon Laidlaw finished unbeaten on 59 as Sprotbrough knocked off the runs.

Barnby Dun’s Stuart McPhee claimed 4-7 from five overs as Darton were skittled for 90, but Barnby made hard work of overhauling the target. Scott Walker (16) top-scored as they scraped a one-wicket win.

Newcomers Bullcroft Main made a successful start in Division Four by beating Newton Hill. Tony McAdam (66), Stephen Denton (51) and Matthew Vicarage (41) led Bulllcroft to 252-7 and Newton Hill’s reply was kept at 203-8.

Promoted Bentley Colliery narrowly lost to Knottingley.

Dale Cox and James Butterworth both hit half centuries in Bentley’s total of 151 which Knottingley overhauled with the last pair at the wicket. Fishlake A were routed for 60 in a nine wicket defeat against Streethouse A.

Peglers, Barnby Dun A and Sprotbrough A all won in Division Five.

Dean Williamson (6-14) was Peglers’ match-winner against Old Sharlston A and Brian Wood (4-40) set up Barnby’s one-wicket success at Darton A.

Tom Pepper struck 54 and Andy Ward hit an unbeaten 46 as Sprotbrough beat Featherstone A by 37 runs.