Lunn and Towler star as Askern run continues

Have your say

ASKERN continued their revival in Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Two by stretching their unbeaten run to six matches.g

They coasted to a nine-wicket success at strugglers Wombwell Main, who were bowled out for 147 by Andrew Lunn (5-51) and Joe Simpson (3-22).

Ashley Towler struck a six and 14 fours in an unbeaten 75 off 64 balls and shared an unbroken second-wicket stand of 133 with Jeff Morton (49no) as Askern knocked off the runs.

Askern are three points behind fourth-placed Sprotbrough who recorded their third successive victory by beating Hatfield Main by six wickets.

Ben Lyons bagged 7-38 and Gordon Laidlaw snapped up three wickets as Hatfield were toppled for 153.

Tom Kaye (49) and Alex Meadows (29no) led Sprotbrough’s successful reply.

Barnby Dun crushed Glasshoughton who were skittled for 76, chasing Barnby’s 220-9.

Fishlake eased their Division One relegation worries with their second successive win.

A century stand between Peter Butterworth (74no) and Josh Mason (43) guided Fishlake to an eight-wicket victory against Nostell who were skittled for 131 by Paul Moores (4-30) and Matt Windass (3-47).

It put Fishlake 15 points clear of the relegation zone. Their final two matches are against the bottom two, Featherstone and Hooton Pagnell.

Sykehouse stepped up their Division Three title bid by beating Brodsworth Main whose 69-run defeat sent them sliding to the foot of the table.

James Davies (41) and Michael Gallagher (25) top-scored in Sykehouse’s total of 185-9 and Phil Sanders (5-56) and his brother Peter (3-20) routed Brodsworth for 116 in reply.

Mick Cassinelli (3-38) and John Robinson (3-38) were Brodsworth’s best bowlers.

With two games remaining, Sykehouse are five points behind leaders Yorkshire Main and three points ahead of third-placed Thurnscoe Institute who trounced lowly West Bretton by 130 runs thanks to Danny Ravenscroft (81), Michael Harvey (79) and Lee Wilson (4-33).

Thorne Colliery lost by five runs to Sandal in Saturday’s closest finish.

James Stewart (4-40) and Chris Dyer (3-16) limited Sandal to 177 and Thorne’s reply fell agonisingly short when they were all out for 172, despite the efforts of Dyer (43), Chris Head (39), Matt Cockburn (33) and Mizhar Mir (31).