Longley is Askern hero with 65 and 5-18

Have your say

FISHLAKE moved further away from relegation trouble in the Pontefract and District League Division One by continuing their revival with their third straight win.

They crushed Upper Haugh to move 15 points clear of second bottom Hooton Pagnell.

Ian Walker bagged 6-37 from 14 overs and Major Singh 2-13 as Upper Haugh were routed for 90.

Openers Peter Butterworth (52no) and Josh Mason (27no) knocked off the runs in just 13 overs as Fishlake coasted to a 10-wicket victory.

All-rounder David Longley was outstanding as Askern beat Division Two rivals Whitley Bridge.

Longley (65) and Dean Smith (41no) guided Askern to a six-wicket win after Longley (5-18) had toppled Whitley for 154.

Barnby Dun and Sprotbrough lost to promotion-chasers Stainborough and Monk Bretton respectively.

Dave Barrett (83) steered Barnby to 219-9 at Stainborough who overhauled the target for the loss of four wickets. Jay Horne (3-70) was Barnby’s most successful bowler.

Gavin Elsmore (3-69) and Dave Carr (2-37) limited leaders Monk Bretton to 228-6 but Spotbrough managed only 161-7 in reply, despite Adam Kaye’s half-century and an unbeaten 24 by Alex Meadows.

Hatfield Town collected maximum points when Darton conceded their match. Sykehouse kept alive their Division Three promotion bid by beating bottom team Ackworth A.

Phil Sanders (52) led Sykehouse to 221-9 and he then snapped up 4-25 to restrict Ackworth’s reply to 144-9.

Sykehouse are 10 points adrift of second-placed Thurnscoe Institute whose game at Thorne Colliery was called off through a waterlogged pitch.

Joe Southam (40) top-scored in Brodsworth Main’s total of 131 in a three-wicket defeat at Hensall.

Division Four’s bottom team Bullcroft Main were routed for 67 in a nine-wicket defeat at leaders Streethouse A and Bentley Colliery remain second bottom after losing by eight wickets at Monk Bretton A.

Fishlake A reached 107-8 against Upper Haugh A before the game was abandoned because of rain.

Peglers maintained their Division Five title bid by beating Barnby Dun A.

Stephen Dinnage (64) guided Peglers to 176-8 and Scott Mantovani (4-33) kept Barnby’s reply at 151-8.

Tom Pepper’s half-century was in vain for bottom side Sprotbrough A in a six-wicket defeat at Crofton A.

Division Six promotion-chasers Thurnscoe A were easy winners but Hatfield A lost by five wickets to West Bretton A.

John Cook struck 121 and Ashley Newton 59 as Thurnscoe piled up 250-9 against Wombwell Main A who were bowled out for 145 in reply.

Askern A stepped up their Division Seven promotion challenge by crushing Normanton A who were routed for 42 by Daniel O’Grady (5-26) and Ryan Davis (4-18).

Strugglers Brodsworth Main A lost by three wickets to Glasshoughton A.

Fenwick’s Division Eight promotion hopes suffered a setback with a six-wicket loss against leaders Ferrybridge Power Station A in a clash of the top two teams.

John Jackson (33), Robert Harrower (30) and Gavan Rowley (13) were the only batsmen who reached double figures as Fenwick were skittled for 109.

Bentley A lost by five wickets to Thorpe Audlin A and Sykehouse A went down by 110 runs against Stanley Falcons A.