Ian Walker is key all-rounder as Crofton crash

Losing side: Mike Threapleton on his way to 3-34 for Sprotbrough but Barnby Dun beat them by 42 runs.                         PICTURE: STEVE TAYLOR
Losing side: Mike Threapleton on his way to 3-34 for Sprotbrough but Barnby Dun beat them by 42 runs. PICTURE: STEVE TAYLOR
Share this article
Have your say

ALL-rounder Ian Walker was outstanding in Fishlake’s first win this season in Pontefract and District League Division One.

Matthew Windass (4-23) and Walker (4-56) routed Crofton for 102, replying to Fishlake’s 165-8 that included 41 by Graham Ackroyd and 30 from Walker.

Barnby Dun continued their climb in Division Two, beating Sprotbrough by 42 runs.

Sprotbrough looked handily placed when Dave Carr (3-37) and Mike Threapleton (3-34) toppled Barnby for 113, (Karl Norris 24).

Barnby were rescued by Andrew Young (6-28) and Jay Horne (3-24) who skittled Sprotbrough for 71 in reply.

Hatfield Town’s slide continued with a five-wicket loss at Hemsworth. Nick Page (47), Paul Davies (33) and Jonathan Holmes (3-20) were Hatfield’s best performers.

Mick Harvey’s battling 31 was in vain for Thurnscoe Institute in a 145-run defeat against joint leaders South Kirkby.

Thorne Colliery lost a low-scoring Division Three match against Frickley Colliery A.

Mazhar Mir (6-15) skittled Frickley for 82 but Thorne’s reply fell narrowly short when they fell for 76, despite Carl Walton’s 39.

Phillip Townsend (50), Michael Gallagher (47no) and Phillip Sanders (44) led the way as Sykehouse recorded their victory by overhauling West Bretton’s 192-6.

Division Four leaders Brodsworth Main maintained their 100 per cent record by beating Newton Hill by 31 runs.

Last season’s Division Five champions Peglers were indebted to all-rounder Ashley Langdale (42 and 4-12) as they climbed to second with a nail-biting five-run victory over Ryhill.

Bullcroft Main bagged their first win by defeating Stainborough A by five wickets thanks to Danny Simpson (59) and Andrew Collins (4-16).

Barnby Dun A stepped up their Division Five promotion bid by crushing Sprotbrough A.

Lee McMahon (71) guided Barnby to 187-7 and Phil Day (4-24) routed Sprotbrough for 67 in reply.

Ryan Atkinson (6-13), Mark Newton (49) and Andrew Goddard (46) were Thurnscoe A’s match-winners at Crofton.

In Division Seven, Fenwick were all out for 97 in a five-wicket defeat against Glasshoughton A and Askern A managed only 110-9 in a five-wicket loss at Stanley Falcons A.

In Division Eight, Bentley Colliery A were routed for 27 against Thorpe Audlin A and Peglers A lost by four wickets at Ryhill A.