Green light for major facelift of local cricket

Have your say

It’s all change in local cricket after the South Yorkshire Cricket League announced a dramatic restructure from the 2016 season.

The League announced yesterday that the ECB Yorkshire Premier League will be divided into north and south sections.

In essence, the Yorkshire League will split into four Premier Leagues, served by feeder leagues accessible to all club cricketers.

A South league will include Appleby Frodingham, Barnsley, Cleethorpes, Doncaster, Rotherham, Sheffield Collegiate and Sheffield United, plus the top three clubs from the South Yorkshire Senior League and two clubs from the Central Yorkshire League.

The biggest change to the current structure is the introduction of promotion and relegation. Ground and facilities criteria will still exist, and clubs will be required to have strong junior sections and have achieved Clubmark status before gaining entry.

South Yorkshire League clubs have fared well against Yorkshire League sides in the past, and sides such as Wickersley, Treeton, Whitley Hall and Elsecar would certainly not look out of place.