CRICKET: Whitley Hall are champions of Yorkshire - again

Have your say

WHITLEY Hall have retained the Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy after repeating last year’s win over Wrenthorpe in the final at Elsecar yesterday.

Last year they overhauled the Central Yorkshire League side’s massive 296-6 - this time, Whitley batted first and held won by 18 runs.

Whitley, South Yorkshire League runners-up this season, made 204-9 with top scorers being Alex Welsh and Chris Siddall both with 37, the pair adding 70 for the third wicket. Jim Tasker made 33, Neil Longhurst 32, Sam Chatterton 24 - but Jaco Castle followed up his matchwinning innings of last year by making a duck this time.

Wrenthorpe, with their strong batting line-up, would have well fancied their chances but Whitley dismissed skipper Gary Fellows for 24 and last year’s centurion, David Paynter, for 15.

At 100-7, Whitley were sensing victory again only for ex-Yorkshire player Bradley Parker, 51, and Greig Batty, 21, to add 58 and put the match in the balance again. But it proved beyond them and Wrenthorpe were dismissed for 186 in the 46th over.

Whitley are the first South Yorkshire side to win it twice. One time winners are Rotherham Town and Treeton.

In the Yorkshire League Cup Final at Shaw Lane yesterday, Barnsley made 205-8 (Matt Wilson 51) but Driffield won on a faster run rate, being 183-4 (Aamer Sajjid 69) with 10 overs left when rain forced an abandonment.

Yorkshire League champions York won the ECB National Club Championship yesterday when beating Wanstead by eight wickets.