Cricket: Kettleborough scoops prestigious award

Have your say

Richard Kettleborough has been named the International Cricket Council’s umpire of the year for 2013.

The former Yorkshire batsman, born-and-bred in Sheffield, was top of his class on the ICC’s elite panel. The ICC announced the winners of their annual awards on the first day of the third Ashes test at the WACA yesterday.

Australia captain Michael Clarke scooped the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named the player of the year. He was also the ICC’s test cricketer of 2013 while Alastair Cook was named as captain of a select world test team. Other winners included Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, one-day international cricketer of the year, and India batsman Cheteshwar Pujara as the emerging player.