Cricket: Joe Root leads Yorkshire trio Down Under

Sheffield's Joe Root in this summer's Ashes series against Australia.
Sheffield's Joe Root in this summer's Ashes series against Australia.
Share this article
Have your say

Sheffield’s Joe Root is among three Yorkshire players selected by England for this winter’s Ashes series in Australia.

Opening batsman Root will be joined by county colleagues Jonny Bairstow and Gary Ballance on the tour, which begins with a three-day match against Western Australia starting on October 31.

Fast bowler Tim Bresnan was left out of the squad after a stress fracture of the back but will travel to Australia for further rehabilitation and either stay with the squad or join up with the England Lions.

However, England have recalled spinner Monty Panesar to their squad along with three uncapped players, including Ballance.

Panesar has not played for his country since a well-publicised incident with bouncers at a Brighton nightclub but has been recalled after a spell on loan at Essex.

Warwickshire’s former Ireland bowler Boyd Rankin and Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes are the other uncapped players in the 17-man party who have yet to play Test cricket.

Ballance said: “It will be a little daunting playing with some of the best players in the world but I know that I’ll be made welcome.

“I’ve spoken to Joe (Root), Jonny (Bairstow) and Tim (Bresnan) about the England set-up and they speak highly of the dressing room. It is very much like a club environment where everyone works hard for each other with one common goal of winning.”

The first Test is at The Gabba in Brisbane (November 21-25) with Adelaide (December 5-9), Perth (December (13-17), Melbourne (December 26-30) and Sydney (January 3-7) making up the rest of the five match series.

England squad (for the 2013/14 Ashes Series in Australia):

AN Cook (Essex, Captain), MJ Prior (Sussex, Vice Captain), JM Anderson (Lancashire), JM Bairstow (Yorkshire), GS Ballance (Yorkshire), IR Bell (Warwickshire), SCJ Broad (Nottinghamshire), MA Carberry (Hampshire), ST Finn (Middlesex), MS Panesar (Sussex), KP Pietersen (Surrey), WB Rankin (Warwickshire), JE Root (Yorkshire), BA Stokes (Durham), GP Swann (Nottinghamshire), CT Tremlett (Surrey), IJL Trott (Warwickshire).

* Follow The Star sports writer Richard Fidler on Twitter @richardfidler and Google+ follow Richard Fidler on Google+. For breaking news keep checking The Star website or visit us on Facebook at or Twitter at