Champs quick off mark

Share this article
Have your say

DEFENDING champions Doncaster Town got the fifth season of the All Saints Indoor Cricket League got underway with a comfortable win over Warmsworth.

Amit Kundra’s unbeaten innings of 48 runs laid the foundation for his team’s victory.

Veteran Steve Horsfield, making his debut in the competition, contributed with two run outs and a catch but was unable to help the young Warmsworth team (Matthew Spurr 23).

Last season’s runners-up Hatfield Town recorded a five-wicket win over Askern Welfare. Nick Bisby (33 not out) top scored on his debut in a total of 80 for 3. Town cruised to victory thanks to Paul Davies (26) and Chris Liddle (22 not out). Rossington Main, the 2010 winners, put all their summer troubles behind them as they cruised to victory over Hatfield Town’s second string outfit. Main posted a total of 130 for 3 Joel Evans (54), Peter Mawdsley (25) and Micheal Richardson (20) starring.