Barnes stormer as Barnby bid for return to top

Share this article
Have your say

BARNBY Dun have made an excellent start in their bid to regain the Pontefract and District League top-flight place they lost in 2009.

Steve Barnes hit 71 and Scott Walker 57 as the Doncaster side achieved their second successive win in Division Two by overhauling Hemsworth’s 241-5.

Hatfield Town maintained their unbeaten record when Andy Cutts (86) and Karl Buxton (51) gave them the edge against Glasshoughton.

Askern bounced back from their opening day defeat against Sprotbrough, David Longley (65) guiding them to a five-wicket success at Darton.

Sprotbrough slipped to their first defeat when they were routed for 109 against Stainborough.

Adam Kaye (32), Gordon Laidlaw (2-30) and Ben Lyons (2-26) were Sprotbrough’s best performers in a five-wicket defeat.

Fishlake are still looking for their first win in Division One after losing by 10 runs to Rothwell.

Chasing 232-4, Fishlake fell narrowly short when they were all out for 222, despite Mark Davies’ battling 66.

All-rounder Mazhar Mir was outstanding for Division Three leaders Thorne Colliery at Sykehouse.

Mir bagged 4-23 as Sykehouse were toppled for 115 and then hit 44 as Thorne scraped a two wicket win, despite Peter Sanders’ 4-50.

Thorne are one point ahead of Thurnscoe Institute who were indebted to James Ashcroft (64 not out) for a six-wicket win over Yorkshire Main.

Brodsworth Main’s batting let them down when they were skittled for 95 in a four-wicket defeat against Normanton.

Will Drury (28) was Brodsworth’s top scorer and Michael Harris (4-42) their best bowler.

In Division Four, Bentley Colliery’s Steve Ashworth (8-22) produced one of the day’s best bowling performances to rout Upper Haugh A for 93 and set up a seven-wicket victory.

Newcomers Bullcroft Main lost by seven wickets at Ryhill.

A century by Matthew Windass was in vain for bottom team Fishlake A, who finished on 215-6 chasing Stainborough’s 275-3.

Promoted Peglers maintained their 100 per record in Division Five by crushing Notton.

Gulraz Rehman (100) and Dean Williamson (56) guided Peglers to 271-7 and Scott Mantovani snapped up 6-10 as Notton were skittled for 35 in reply.

Barnby Dun A were routed for 34 in a ten-wicket defeat against Crofton A and Sprotbrough A lost by three wickets at Garforth, despite Nicholas Pleasant’s return of 4-32.

Darren Sides hammered 83 for Hatfield Town A in an 85-run win at Stanley Falcons in Division Six.

John Cook (49) and Danny Ravenscroft (45) were Thurnscoe Institute A’s match-winners as they beat Barnsley by five wickets.

In Division Eight, Bentley Colliery A’s Nicky Smith claimed 4-7 as Peglers A were bowled out for 83, replying to 150-9.

Fenwick achieved a six-wicket win against Sykehouse A.