Askern hat-trick

At the crease: Wayne Silvester bats for Hatfield Town in their defeat against Askern.      Picture: Steve Taylor
At the crease: Wayne Silvester bats for Hatfield Town in their defeat against Askern. Picture: Steve Taylor
Have your say

ASKERN continued their revival in Pontefract and District League Division Two by trouncing Hatfield Town to record their third straight win.

Josh Gillies (5-19) routed Hatfield for 102, replying to Askern’s 277-7 that featured 129 from Dean Smith and 75 by Andy Lunn.

Barnby Dun ended their slump by beating strugglers Wombwell Main.

Phil Decent and Adam Wilkinson each hit 34 as Barnby posted 183-7.

Barry Smith (3-9), Andrew Young (3-24) and his twin brother Jonathan (2-26) sent Wombwell’s reply collapsing to 104 all out.

Adam Kaye (71) and James Harris (40) steered Sprotbrough to 214-6 at Hemsworth but it wasn’t enough because the home side knocked off the runs, despite Dave Carr’s 2-26.

Fishlake’s three-match winning run in Division One ended with a home defeat against Fairburn when they were skittled for 126, chasing the visitors’ 244-6

Peter Butterworth (33), Mark Davis (29) and Tom Webster (2-47) were Fishlake’s best performers.

Thurnscoe Institute and Sykehouse maintained their Division Three promotion bids.

Don Whitehurst hammered 111 and Neil Johnson 44 as Thurnscoe piled up 265-6 against bottom side Ackworth A whose reply was kept at 239-6 by Liam Cooke (3-35).

Sykehouse’s Richard Copley (5-15), Peter Sanders (2-14) and Richard Munro (2-33) routed Allerton Bywater for 86.

In reply, Phil Townsend finished unbeaten on 44 as Sykehouse eased to a six-wicket win.

An excellent all-round display by Mark Walton (59 and 4-49) was in vain for Thorne Colliery in a two-wicket defeat at leaders Yorkshire Main.

Brodsworth Main remain in relegation trouble after losing to fellow strugglers West Bretton.

Jonathan Winward struck an unbeaten 129 as West Bretton overhauled Brodsworth’s 186 that featured 68 by Joe Southam and 35 from Jordan Midgeley.

Bullcroft Main climbed off the foot of Division Four by collecting maximum points for the first time this season.

Adam Stott (75no) and Gary Lord (54) guided Bullcroft to a six-wicket success against South Kirkby A who were bowled out for 155 by Darren Birkett (4-43).

Bullcroft leapfrogged South Kirkby and Bentley Colliery, who lost to Fishlake A after Umair Raja (6-16) toppled them for 111.

In reply, John Wallbank (66) steered Fishlake to a three-wicket win, despite Roger Clark’s 4-16.

Division Five title-chasers Peglers kept up the pressure on leaders Ferrybridge Power Station by beating Crofton A, who were bowled out for 122, replying to 149-9.

Barnby Dun A lost by seven wickets at Garforth and bottom team Sprotbrough A were beaten by seven wickets by Notton.

Askern A maintained their Division Seven promotion challenge by posting 123-5 against Pollington who were routed for 83 in reply.

Fenwick’s Division Eight title hopes faded when they were skittled for 50 in a seven-wicket loss at Eggborough Power Station.

Sykehouse went down by three wickets against leaders Ferrybridge Power Station A and Peglers A lost by 154 runs at Thorpe Audlin A.