Katrina Earl, Cynthia Tonge Memorial Trophy winner, with Malcolm Tonge and Cynthia's daughter Tracey Silvester
Katrina Earl, Cynthia Tonge Memorial Trophy winner, with Malcolm Tonge and Cynthia's daughter Tracey Silvester
Have your say

Katrina Earl has credited Cynthia O’Brien, as she was then, with her introduction to tournament bowling about 20 years ago as a teenager called Caley.

So it was fitting that that she returned to Armthorpe Welfare Bowling Club in Doncaster where she was once a team-mate of her mentor, to win the inaugural Cynthia Tonge Memorial Trophy.

Katrina went into this one-day event as favourite, given her status as one of the best lady bowlers in the country and her green knowledge from a few years back, but her final opponent couldn’t have been guessed at before the bowling started.

Shirley Darnill, more often known as Debbie Farmer’s sister, came out of her sibling’s shadow to beat another of Britain’s best Lynn Pritchatt 21-14 in her semi-final, before losing 21-15 to Katrina in the decider.

Quarter-final scores: Tracey McDermott 9 Shirley Darnill 21, Wendy Jackson 7 Lynn Pritchatt 21, Denise Allin 21 Debbie Farmer 16, Katrina Earl 21 Alma Cornthwaite 18. Semi-finals: Darnill 21 Pritchatt 14, Earl 21 Allin 8. Final: Katrina Earl 21 Shirley Darnill 15.

n Meersbrook Bowling Club, the Irlam Steel club champion in 2002, were back in the Manchester suburbs last Sunday representing South Yorkshire in the now grandly titled World Club Championship. The 2013 county cup winners went into their first round match as the underdogs, however, having been drawn against the same club as last year when St Joseph’s from Chorlton in Lancashire beat predominately the same team 162-123. Jack Clarke turned round his 2013 result against the mighty Wayne Ditchfield from an 18-21 defeat into a 21-5 win to ensure a 146-127 win for the Sheffield side.

Meersbrook then ousted Birches Head Hotel from Stoke 150-144 to reach the April 20 finals day. Andy Sorsby and Andy Whitaker joined Jack Clarke winning both games on the day.

The 2013 South Yorkshire county cup runners-up, Bradfield, take their chance on Sunday, playing Eccleston in their first round tie.

n Katie Morgan & Graham Garnett of Westfield Park in Doncaster won the mixed pairs tournament at Barnsley Bowling Club.

Quarter-finals: Mark Gilbank & Blanche Smith 17 Steve & Bev Shannon 21, Jackie Fraser & Simon Hallas 21 Andy Cairns & Carron McGrath 16, Graham Garnett & Katie Morgan 21 Nigel & Tracey McDermott 13, Debbie & Andy Farmer 19 Mel Hobson & Jayne Hamilton 21. Semi-finals: Shannon & Shannon 14 Fraser & Hallas 21, Garnett & Morgan 21 Hamilton & Hobson 19. Final: Simon Hallas & Jackie Fraser 20 Graham Garnett & Katie Morgan 21.

n The last 16 spaces in the Sheffield Open Spring Floodlight competition at Meersbrook Park were decided by the following results -

March 24: Dave Hallam 21 Chris Hill 20, Paul Bailey 21 Peter Sturch 10, Richard Howson 21 Aaron Williams 14, Steve Pickering 21 Kevin Williams 11. March 25: Scott Woodward 21 Ken Doleman 8, Micky Hague 21 Joe Westell 18, Ian Johnson 21 Phil Walworth 8, Matt Beever 21 Tony Batchelder 14. March 26: Paul Stancil 21 Richard Jackson 18, Nick White 21 Dave Sayles 14. March 27: Chris Kelly 21 Gary Hanson 5, Mel Hobson 21 Mark Crawshaw 14. March 31: Andy Spragg 21 Gary Haslam 20, Mick Hobson 21 Steve Marshall 11. April 1: Peter Worfolk 21 John Cavill 10, Andy Sorsby 21 Daniel Fowler 11.

n Tomorrow’s fixtures on the first day of the Sheffield and District Super League season are: Bradfield v Woodlands, Maltby v Crookesmoor, Millhouses v Meersbrook Pk, Armthorpe v Whiteley Woods.