Hallamshire dominate big festive race

Hat-trick:  Andy Ward wins his third Percy Pud run on the trot
Hat-trick: Andy Ward wins his third Percy Pud run on the trot
Share this article
Have your say

Andrew Ward (Clowne RR) won the Percy Pud 10K road race in Sheffield yesterday whilst Fiona Davies (Barnsley AC) was the first woman home in the field of over 1500.

For Ward, 42, it was the third successive win in this popular race. Despite the cold and wet conditions, Ward’s time of 31:13 was three seconds faster than last year. He beat Cleethorpes-based Anthony Whiteman (Shaftsbury Barnet), another veteran over 40. Although not known as a road runner, Whiteman is a former track international with a 3:51.9 mile to his credit.

Julian Lings (Sheffield Running club), sixth last year, improved to third with a personal best time of 32:19. Hallamshire runners dominated the race with eight in the top 15, including former international Carl Thackery, 49, who finished 13th.

Another leading veteran was City of Sheffield’s Mick Thompson whose time of 34:54 got his into the top 20 and gave him the over 50 award.

Fiona Davies (Barnsley AC) finished an impressive 58th overall to take the women’s award in 38:02 ahead of Jenny Horne (Sheffield RC) and Steph Burns (Rotherham)

Results: 1 A Ward (Clowne RR) 31:13; 2 A Whiteman (Shaftsbury Barnet) 31:46; 3 J Lings (Sheffield RC) 32:19; 4 C Ryde (Doncaster) 32:27; 5 A Challenger (Hallamshire) 32:32; 6 M Hobbs (Hallamshire) 33:10; 7 A Norton (Mansfield) 33:21; 8 P Faulkner (Hallamshire) 33:28; 9 G Felton (Barnsley AC) 33:36; 10 C Edgell (Hallamshire) 33:40; 11 R Baker (Hallamshire) 33:53; 12 T Bailey (Notts AC) 33:55; 13 C Thackery (Hallamshire) 34:08; 14 B Beattie (Hallamshire) 34:09; 15 P Cooper (Hallamshire) 34:12; 16 N Elliott (Wakefield) 34:39; 17 D Furniss (Hallamshire) 34:43; 18 W Beauchamp (Sheffield RC) 34:48; 19 J Morgan (Dark Peak) 34:52; 20 M Thompson (City of Sheffield) 34:54

Women: 1 F Davies (Barnsley AC) 38:02; 2 J Horne (Sheffield RC) 38:27; 3 S Burns (Rotherham) 38:40; 4 J Seymour (Hallamshire) 39:39; 5 N Hatswell (Rotherham) 39:40; 6 E Wolff (Penistone) 40:05.